Six

One car. One after-party.
Six people, six points of view.
But only one outcome.

First lines:

“But the facts are simple. A recipe for disaster.
One car.
Five seatbelts.
Six people.
A late night party.
A generous splash of alcohol.
A sprinkle of bad weather.
Two P-plate signs.
And no one is answering the ringing mobile phone…”

Six

The blurb of this book gave me such high hopes. But the rest of it did not live up to my expectations at all.
My first problem was the promise of 6 points of view. But really, Sarah was the main character, and no one else was that important. I didn’t get to know any of the other characters well. The point of multiple pov’s is so you can see things from different eyes. Not the same even 6 times, with the only real description coming from Sarah. Why not just write the whole thing from her point of view?

Sarah was also the only one with any real personality. The others had no depth to them. They showed tiny parts of them that could have been interesting, but were never mentioned again. There was absolutely no character development, or anything that made me want to like the other 5.

Then there was the body. I mean, who would really decide not to call the police? This book tried to be “realistic fiction”. But I know a lot of stupid people, and all of them would call the police if they found a dead body in the woods. It’s just common sense. The way it was explained at the end was good, and actually kind of clever, but I was annoyed with that part of the plot from the beginning. Only Nico seemed affected by it at all. It was sort of thrown in there just so we had something to focus on.

The car crash, mentioned in the very first part of the book, was actually a very minor part of the story. They kept mentioning it, like it was the main focus of the book. Then, at the end, it was skimmed over. I wanted to know what happened during, and why (in detail). I wanted to know what happened afterwards. Most importantly, I wanted to know who died, because it was incredibly hard to work out. I had to read other reviews to find out!

This book was not a lead up to a car crash, like it promised to be. It was the story of kids who found a dead body, but didn’t care a bit. And not even a particularly well done one. That’s not what I signed up for!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑