Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has never been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex-Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair-bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

Me Before You.jpg

You know how sometimes you read those books, and you feel like your life will never be the same again? Yeah. That.

To be honest, I thought I knew exactly what was coming when I picked up this book. Woman in bad relationship, man feeling suicidal, woman trying to change his mind. Pretty predictable, right? Boy was I wrong, about everything there was to be wrong about.

The relationship surprised me in that it wasn’t really there for a long time. There was definitely sexual tension a lot of the time, and bits of flirting, but she was in a relationship, and he was her client. It would have been so unprofessional, but did that mean I was any less desperate for it to happen? It was so so slow, but I felt like it had to be, considering everything. It made that ending even better – I was SOBBING, and put the book down still sobbing, for a solid five minutes. I want to sob again even thinking about it, it was so. Freaking. Heartbreaking. The book was a romance, for sure, but falling in love wasn’t the point. It’s hard to tell you the point without spoiling everything, but it certainly wasn’t falling in love. I think it was that strong friendship that made parts of it so powerful, because there was certainly love there, just not in the way you’d expect.

What I loved more than anything was seeing that sort of lifestyle through the eyes of someone with a disability. It was written from her point of view, not his, but as his carer we got a whole new appreciation for what that must be like. Will is paralysed from the neck down, meaning he relies on other people to do literally everything for him. And what makes it even worse is how much he loved to travel, and adventure, and was such an active, sporty person. He had all of that just snatched away from him. Obviously, I know that’s sad, everyone does. But to read it like this… Stuff like that makes me angry, and I desperately want to do something to help people in these positions. And when it comes to that ending, a part of me understood it. I didn’t want to, but I really understood it.

I don’t cry very easily, and like I said before, this had me full on sobbing! If you’re in the mood for a good cry, this book will certainly do it. And it was a really fascinating insight into a lifestyle I hope I’m lucky enough to never live.

(P.S. I think this is good representation of people living with a disability, but if any of it was problematic, and there are better things out there, please let me know!)

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

6 thoughts on “Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

  1. I adored this book!! It really spoke to me… Aside from the romance and all of that, what truly affected me was the message: live life to the fullest of your ability and don’t settle. I felt like I was in Lou’s situation and this book gave me something to live by. Didn’t really like the movie, I felt like this theme wasn’t expressed enough. Great review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I completely agree with this! I dont know what exactly I felt inspired to do, but I really wanted to get up and do SOMETHING. Good to know that the movie didnt live up to that properly, thanks! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

