Posted in Posts, Wrap Ups

Diverse Reading Updates – January 2017

At the start of the year, I said that one of my biggest goals was to read more diversely, and that included a whole bunch of challenges. We’re nearly at the end of January though, and I think I’ve done pretty well! February should be full of reviews for these books, because y’know, effort and stuff. 

I didn’t mention this in the post, because I only decided last minute to participate in #DiverseAThon over the week of the 22nd. Honestly, I didn’t do as well as I wanted to, and Read Diverse 2017.pngthat was mostly because of lack of planning. I read Rebel of the Sands, with a POC protagonist, and Sculpting David with a bi protagonist. Hopefully when it comes around again I’ll be more prepared!

My main two were the diversity bingo, and Read Diverse. The second involves reviewing to get points, so like I said earlier, February is going to be all about that. 

I think I did pretty well with my bingo though! I read four books, and for a year long challenge that’s not bad at all. I’ve nicely marked them on here, and I’ll go into more detail when I review them. diversity-bingo-jan

My goal for February is to get further out of my comfort zone with my diverse reading. I think all of these were on my tbr already, so I wasn’t especially reading them for the sake of reading diversely. I’ve read a couple of books now with Muslim characters and culture, and I’m finding in fascinating, so I’m excited to keep reading more of those! If you have any recommendations for any of the boxes, please let me know. 

How is your bingo going? Are you more up to date on your reviews than I am?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Diverse Reading Updates – January 2017

  1. I love this diversity bingo idea! I have some recommendations (and I offer my apologies if you’ve already read them or plan on reading them): Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork; Lucy and Linh by Alice Pung; It Ain’t So Awful, Falafel by Firoozeh Dumas; and Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor. All fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

