Posted in Discussions, Posts

Social Stress (pt1)

People are scary; all of us know this. And for some people, going up and talking to strangers is fine. Or maybe you’re the one in your group that’s always up for hanging out and hosting things. Or maybe you’re me, the one that stresses about every. Little. Thing. I’m getting a lot better though, enough that I felt like I could host a party on Saturday night. Spoiler; it went really well. But holy moly was I stressed about it beforehand!

So I spent all day worrying, and also cleaning and buying alcohol and those sorts of things. Y’know, a super fun day. People were coming at 7:30, and the guy with the speaker came at 7. Shout out to Speaker Guy, he was honestly a life saver. He sat around with me until a couple of other people turned up, then left to buy stuff (hot chips to share, bless him). Until about 8:30, maybe later, it was four of us just sitting around. I was on HIGH ALERT STRESS, convinced no one was going to turn up, even though it was a party, and who’s on time to a party?

Fear not, though, because people did turn up. Actually, the first lot of people to turn up were ones that I’d invited because I couldn’t ignore them, not because I actually get on well with them. They got straight onto playing beer pong, and I was sitting around with the same people, full of STRESS. Why? What was possibly going to happen? Listen, I don’t know, but my brain was going through every possibly scenario, starting from spilled drinks to a massacre. Anything could happen, right?

More and more people kept turning up though, and I got complimented on how great my garage is for a party multiple times, so that was great. Highlights include “Did I mention I love your shirt? Because I love your shirt. It cost $100? Worth it, because I LOVE your shirt. Did I mention I love your shirt?” and “Wait, why is she flirting with him, he isn’t black??” and laughing until I cried on the three-seater couch with five of us squished up against each other, and a big group hug with about ten of us. 

People were just so lovely to me, too. Like I said, Speaker Guy was great, and always there to talk to, as if he knew when I was feeling a bit lost. A girl who’s the mother friend of her group kept ranting to me about things, but that meant really wonderful conversations. Another girl had really good chats with me too, which was great. Someone else saw me looking a bit panicked at one point, and went “Do you need a hug?” and gave me the most perfect, softest hug EVER. One friend got drunk enough to tell me he really liked me as a friend, and that he wished I was staying in Wellington because he’s really going to miss me, and that is incredibly rare for him! And of course the friends that stayed the night and helped me clean up, they were there all night as well, just in case I needed them. Man, people can be great. 

Moral of the story; stress can be for nothing. Seriously, it was for NOTHING. However, you may have noticed that this is titled “part 1”, meaning there’s a part 2 coming at you tomorrow when I tell you all about a situation where my stress was for something. Yay? This was a FANTASTIC night though, I had so much more fun than I was expecting to!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Social Stress (pt1)

  1. I’m so happy you had such a good time!!! I’m not having a party but I am having a meal out with friends for my birthday In a couple of weeks and it’s just stressing me out just thinking about it. It’s the thought of any attention being on me because it’s my birthday. Nevermind haha

    If you have the time I’d appreciate it if you checked out my post https://sophiesamantha.wordpress.com/2017/01/18/wintery-days/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

