Posted in Discussions, Posts

“Go big or go home”

I go 100% with everything. Always. Is this a flaw? Who knows? If I don’t love you, I hate you. I’ll watch that movie til I can act it all out myself, I’ll listen to that album until I know every word, and if I don’t you can bet I’ll tell you every reason why not. I think I’m getting better at not doing this, because I know I can definitely be a bit scary! But it’s probably something I should keep working on. 

Basically, I’m the most intense sort of fangirl, and I’m always ready for a fight. THIS is when it becomes a bit of a flaw. See, my friend though Suicide Squad wasn’t that bad. Same friend, and a couple others, argue that Harry Potter sucks. And how many arguments do you think I’ve gotten in over that? It’s gotten to the point where I’m known for my unwavering love of Harry Potter, because I’m so horrified by anyone who hasn’t read, watched, and devoured the series with their entire heart. However, with Suicide Squad it became really interesting, because I’ve grown up enough to realise that people can think that the character development actually wasn’t terrible, and that even though I disagree completely, that’s okay. So what it introduces me to is a new way of thinking about something, whether it’s pop culture or the world as a whole, and I’m a huge believer in the fact that you should be constantly educating yourself. Although my readiness to argue my intense love or intense hatred may be a flaw, it’s definitely one I’ve been improving more and more, especially through 2016!

I’m also getting better at having this all or nothing relationship with real life people. Sure, I definitely still obsess. You can ask my internet friends – 90% of conversations seem to be about “The Girl,” “Cute Socks Guy,” “Cadet Guy,” and “Panto Girl.” Honestly, we’re a mess. And no, I’m not the kind of person that’s going to have a casual relationship with someone. If I’m dating you, I just know I’ll get obsessed, and when you call off this casual Fangirling Chat.jpgthing it will BREAK ME. Just ask my ex – we dated for less than a year and had our kids names picked out. I know, it’s disgusting. Friendships are just as bad, but part of that may be because I have so few in real life. Once people act friendly to me, I cling on, and I want to be your BFF. I’m trying really hard not to be clingy, but I think I still struggle. I hate a lot less though, and I think that’s a lot more important! I’m more willing to give people a chance – but dear god, do NOT get on my bad side. Once I don’t like you, that’s it, you’re gone. You’ve changed? I’ll take your word for it, but don’t get close enough to me to prove it. Unfortunately, this goes the other way too. I love you to bits, so I forgive you for that thing. It was murder? Well, hey, we all have our flaws, right? I’ve stopped a lot of my judging at first site though, which was something I used to be very guilty of. 

The thing is, I’m not really sure if this is a problem! I know that it can be, but that doesn’t necessarily mean it is all the time. I like that I go all out with everything I do! Although there may be a part 2 of this post, the stage where I get burned out and want to scream at anyone who even mentions particular names. Hmm, we’ll see. Anyway, gimme thoughts and stuff, as per usual I’m very interested to see your perspective on things!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

3 thoughts on ““Go big or go home”

  1. Oooh this was an interesting post! I relate to some parts – like sometimes I can have really intense friendships where I literally just want to spend all my time with them but it doesn’t happen often and a lot of the time I’m worried about coming across as too clingy. I don’t really tend to hate people that much though, I definitely hold grudges but after a while they wear off – I’m really bad at staying annoyed at people!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

