Posted in Movies, Posts

I’m a Disney Princess!

Yesterday, I went and saw Moana, and boy oh boy did I fall in love. I’m going to do a proper review on YouTube, but I just wanted to come here and talk about all the fangirling that came from me, a girl in New Zealand.

I’m not Maori, but I am from the same country as the Maori, and I grew up hearing their myths and legends. It’s completely ingrained in my culture, and then there goes a Disney princess (sorry – daughter of a chief), and she has that same culture!! Also, my family is from the Cook Islands, and although it’s my great grandmother that grew up there, my great-aunts are overly proud of their heritage, so I feel like I’m part of it. I’ve visited Rarotonga, where she’s from, and had traditional food, plus a very cultural 90th birthday for my great grandma, so I know how important it is to my family. 

“You’re Welcome” has got to be my favourite part of the movie, because Maui made so many mentions to the stories about him I already knew. Capturing the sun is a classic, and those island he mentioned he pulled up? Yeah, I LIVE on one of those islands! I live right by Te Whiti park, so although I didn’t know her story, I’ve of course heard the name. A lot of it was just really brief, maybe a line or two in the song, but it still made me go WOAH. Also, it’s catchy, points for that. 

Image result for maui godI love love love his tattoos, because that’s a big part of the culture too. I mean, I’m pretty sure they don’t just appear them, but moko, the face tattoo, is something that all highly respected Maori have. All the different sorts of tattoos have different meanings, and I don’t know a huge amount about it all, but the patterns looked pretty good to me! All very Maori and such. 

Actually, most of what I recognised was small stuff, since I don’t know the main myth. Like the heart being made out of ponamu, or greenstone – every New Zealand kid has had a greenstone necklace at some point in their life, even if it was just a rip off version. And was the necklace paua? I’m not sure, but it looked like it! Plus, Maui’s haka in the final battle gave me chills. That’s a warrior challenge, to show your bravery, and it’s something our rugby team do before every game. It’s such an important New Zealand thing, you know, one of those things white people do at airports to greet famous people, and everyone else cringes, but then you go overseas and get caught up and do it too? Is that weirdly specific? That’s what it is for us, anyway. 

Image result for maui fishing up nz
This is him fishing up NZ!

Basically, I’m in love with Moana, because it’s full of my country’s culture. Us, little old New Zealand! Did you love it too? Do you do the same sort of fangirling?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

23 thoughts on “I’m a Disney Princess!

  1. I loved Moana, too! I know little about the stories, so it was fun to learn them (although I also have little grounding for knowing what’s pretty accurate and what’s been Disney-fied!) My only real complaint about the movie is that I really want the pig as the animal companion, not the chicken! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Moana! It’s definitely one of my favorite Disney movies now and the music is amazing. I’m really happy to hear that it’s accurate to the culture, because I had been wondering. Disney seems to be doing better about being more respectful to other cultures, but I know they’ve had problems in the past. Excellent fangirling review. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yessss ahhh I loved Moana too! The music makes me SO HAPPY and also SO SAD and that’s just great. I watched it during one of the last few weeks of the semester and it was a great (HAPPY!) way to take my mind off school and relax. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I thought it was super cute but, did you think it was like… The oscar nominee worthy.. I’m serious because they nominate best animated picture.. etc. I loved Lin-Manual Miranda. So I’m seeing Hamilton and I’ve bee listening to the songs 24-7 and I thought I was going crazy when I heard Miranda’s voice in the movie. I was flipping out!!!! Dwayne Jonson was amazing too, so was the girl who played Moana she need to get into the music business!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I mean, it was definitely typical Disney, which is amazing but not especially unique. Same thing with Frozen though, everyone is obsessed with that but it wasn’t any better than anything else Disney!
      YOU’RE SEEING HAMILTON?!? I’m so jealous!!! I’m also obsessed, and I knew that he wrote a lot of the music, but I wasn’t expecting to hear him sing! The casting was all really well done I think 🙂 Did you know it was Washington from Hamilton that played the father?

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I really want to go see it! When I saw the trailer I wasn’t completely sold on it, but after I found out that Lin-Manuel Miranda wrote the songs and carefully watched the trailer, I called up my best friends and shouted to her: “WE HAVE TO SEE THIS MOVIE”. Can’t wait to see it and learn more about New Zeland culture!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

