Posted in Looking Ahead, Posts

Packing Up

As of February, I won’t be living in my house anymore. And because I have the biggest room, I’m properly moving out, into a smaller, sort of spare room. You’d think that since I have a month and a half, this wouldn’t be a stressful prospect. It is, though. It’s very stressful. 

I’m writing this post from my bed, and if I look off the end I can only see boxes, that are waiting for wardrobe space. See, my brother is moving into the spare room temporarily while my friend stays here, but before his wardrobe stuff can go in there, that stuff needs to be cleared out, but that stuff doesn’t have anywhere to go because I don’t have any space in my wardrobe, because my stuff has to go in my brother’s room. Do you see the issue?? It’s like this endless circle, and there always seems to be a problem that’s stopping the next step. So, my tactic at the moment is putting everything into boxes, so that those boxes can be easily moved as soon as they can be. 

This is where the next bit of stressful action comes in. My room, which I’ve had for five ish years, needs to be put in boxes. All of it. Are you stressed yet?? Wardrobe one is almost completely done, but there’s still a second wardrobe, a desk, and bookshelves to go. AHHHH. The most emotional thing was sorting through my memories box, a box full of all the things deemed worth keeping since birth. This includes a progress book from kindergarten, my first haircut, ultrasounds, art from primary school, etc. Yes, I cried. Yes, I messaged my wise internet friend so she could de-stress me. Yes, it finally clicked right then that I am an adult who actually has to move out and do my own thing and pay bills and all of that terrifying stuff. It’s a very emotional time I’m going through. 

My desk is mostly sorted through, but in a similar circle problem, it doesn’t really have anywhere to go, because the computer is on the second desk. Eventually, these two are going to swap, but not yet! Then there’s three bookshelves, and I don’t know if I have room to move them into my new room. Hopefully two of them can be moved? I don’t know?? Some of the books have gone into one of these mysterious boxes, but then we come back to the storage problem, where the boxes don’t have anywhere to go. 

Is this post interesting to anyone? Probably not. Basically, I’m trying to say that I am full of stress. This is just me ranting. Sorry…

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

10 thoughts on “Packing Up

  1. It’s okay! Packing is stressful and I’m terrible at it. I think I only packed my clothes for my first year of university the night before I left… But luckily my mum had done most of the packing of things I wouldn’t have thought of, like cooking stuff and she even put together a little medicine box made up of an old shoe box filled with paracetamol and plasters and that kind of thing! Just try doing a little bit each day, or focus on one particular box at a time, so you don’t stress yourself out doing too much at once 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank god you have your mum hahahaha 😛 A medicine box is a really good idea, I hadn’t thought of that! And yeah, I’m trying not to let myself get overwhelmed by the huge list of jobs. Thanks for the advice 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to move too. I’ve been trying to get rid of my apartment for a few weeks, and yesterday I talked to a girl on Facebook who’d be interested in moving in next week, but I’m currently out of town and I don’t know if it’s humanly possible to pack up and move everything I own in 48 hours, especially the hundreds of books I own. Happy new year and happy new place!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

