Posted in Posts, Wrap Ups

2016 Bookish End of Year Survey

2016 is OVER, people! That’s right, this hell of a year is finally finished. This means all of the wrap-up posts (for some reason one never seems to cut it?), and this is my bookish survey thing. Thanks to the wonderful Perpetual Page Turner for creating this! 

2016-reading-stats

Number Of Books You Read: 95, just short of my goal of 100. A lot of binge reading in those last few days!
Number of Re-Reads: Unfortunately 15, but a lot of them I re-read to confirm I can get rid of them! 
Genre You Read The Most From: Maybe fantasy, surprisingly! A lot more than I read in previous years

best-in-books-2016

1. Best Book You Read In 2016? I’m gonna link you to this Top Ten Tuesday… 

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t? P.S I Love You was really disappointing, considering how it’s a bit of a romantic classic! 

 3. Most surprising book you read? Atonement by Ian McEwan – for a book we were forced to read for school, it was actually pretty good. 

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)? I don’t push a huge amount, but Where You’ll Find Me was one of the few that I loved that wasn’t hugely popular. 

 5. Best series you started in 2016? I think the Lunar Chronicles?? Or the Winner’s Curse?

Rhys.jpg
Rhys from this tubmlr

b) Best Sequel of 2016? Court of Mist and Fury, because of all the flaws in book 1!

c) Best Series Ender of 2016? City of Heavenly Fire, I think! This is so hard…

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016? V.E Schwab and Malinda Lo and definitely two I need to read more from next year! 

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone? I read two autobiographies, which is so rare for me! 

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year? Morning Star, the last in the Red Rising trilogy. Honestly, this whole series was impossible to put down! 

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year? Ideally I’d like to re-read a lot less in 2017, so let’s try and say none please… 

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016? 

11. Most memorable character of 2016? Rhys from a Court of Mist and Fury – I’m so in love with him it pains me. 

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016? Ignite Me, the last in the Shatter Me trilogy. Her writing is beyond gorgeous

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016? Binge by Tyler Oakley I think! He was incredibly inspirational, especially in a time where I felt like I had to hide my sexuality. Or Symptoms of Being Human for educating me A LOT

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read? Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe. So much hype, but for some reason I left it for so long! 

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016? My shortest was the Unknown Unknown at only 23, and my longest was Winter (Lunar Chronicles #4) at 832. Why did I read that in December when I was trying to finish my Goodreads goal?? 

 

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most: The end of Code Name Verity STUNNED me. I wasn’t prepared for that at all! Also Atonement, that epilogue UGH

 

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!). Simon and Baz from Carry On! FIGHT ME I LOVE THEM SO MUCHBaz and Simon

 

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year. The quite casual yet tight bond of everyone on board the Rampion in the Lunar Chronicles

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously. Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen. I badly need to read more from her, I keep forgetting how amazing she is! 

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure: The Winner’s Curse, thanks to my irl friend for recommending that series! 

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016? RHYS MY BABE

23. Best 2016 debut you read? A Court of Mist and Fury? Do I have to stop mentioning that at some point? Also Symptoms of Being Human! 

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year? In the hope of not just repeating the same few books over and over, I’ll say The Siren by Kiera Cass. I don’t read much about mermaids, and the world was fascinating! 

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read? Carry On was so adorable and precious and full of joy! simon-snow

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016? More Happy Than Not. Spoiler; it’s actually not happy at all. 

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year? Where You’ll Find Me, for sure! I haven’t heard many people talking about that at all

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul? More Happy Than Not – listen, I’m still not over it, okay? Also, Code Name Verity – THAT GUNSHOT RUINED ME

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016? My Friend Louie was certainly unique, but not in a good way… Apparently talking to a personified baseball bat doesn’t make for a good book, who knew? 

 

Throwing Book Out Window
I watched this movie this year and it really changes this gif!

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)? For most of these questions I have to scroll through my list and pick out some memorable ones. My burning hatred for Briony in Atonement rages on though, apparently at the back of my head at all times even if I think I’ve forgotten how furious she makes me

 

blogging-and-bookish-life

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016? Something weird that I do is to not really have favourite blogs – there are people I talk to, posts I enjoy, but I need to read whatever’s coming up on my reader, instead of making an effort to keep up with specific blogs. So it’s a tricky question to answer! 

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016? Lolita was my most popular, and it was very therapeutic getting all my thoughts out on that creepy yet brilliant book, so probably that one! 

Lolita
LOOK HOW CREEPY

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog? One I did quite recently, actually, about authors commenting on reviews sparked a lot of discussion, and I love getting a conversation going! 

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)? As per usual, Dewey’s readathon is a massive highlight. Actually, all readathons are highlights, even if I do forget to write wrap up posts (sorry Hogwarts readathon!).

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016? Changing from being a book blog to being a lifestyle blog! Obviously, there are still loads of bookish things, but there are loads

Boredom
Me being completely done

of life things too and I’m loving that! 

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year? Lack of motivation. Hence changing everything up, so I can start feeling inspired again. So far it’s working pretty well, but still far from perfect! 

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)? My post about labels in sexuality went a little insane, and I’m so amazed! Thank you to all the people who read that, and who found my blog through it! 

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love? My Dream Crate post was a lot of fun to make, and also a HUGE DEAL that LootCrate emailed me, so it’d be cool if that got some more love! 

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)? Although I obviously knew they existed, I’ve got my first Pop’s this year; a Harry and a Hermione! I’m hooked now, I’m in desperate need of more. 

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year? There’s going to be a whole post about that coming up! 

looking-ahead

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017? Anything and everything V.E. Schwab has every written, get me more of that now

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)? Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz. Give me EVERYTHING HAMILTON PLEASE (even though I love Angelica more)Alex and Eliza.jpg

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating? It’s Not Like It’s A Secret by Misa Sugiura. It sounds adorable! 

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017? Court of Wings and Ruin!!! My body is READY for some more Rhys. 

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017? Read more diversely, and finish series that I start. I’ll have a lot less time next year, being at uni, so I’m keeping my goals pretty simple

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone: Sadly I haven’t read any yet! One day I’ll get into ARCs. One day. 


Holy moly this post takes me forever. My back is sore, I need to get up and take breaks while writing this (she says like an old lady). Anyway, it’s done now, and it’s so much fun remembering all the amazing things I read in 2016! 

What were some of the best books you read? Link me to your wrap-ups, whether you did this or something else! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

12 thoughts on “2016 Bookish End of Year Survey

  1. Loved this post! + definitely agree w/ you, the winners trilogy covers (especially Winners Kiss) was a favorite cover of mine too!! There were so many awesome books I read this year! One that comes to mind that I really loved was Jessica Khoury’s The Forbidden Wish ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can definitely understand why, I need to read more of her stuff!! 🙂 Honestly, I have no idea how… I think school was a lot more chill for this year compared to last year, so I made the most of it!

      Like

  2. I love the friendship among the Lunar Chronicles gang too! Cinder and Thorne’s banters in particular always makes me giggle. I got Code Name Verity for Christmas, and your comment about its ending makes me even more excited to read it! I didn’t realise there’s going to be a book on Alexander and Elisa Hamilton! :O I’m definitely going to keep an eye out for that. I agree about reading more VE Schwab too! I read Vicious this year and fell completely in love with her writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the banter is fantastic! Thorne in general is just one of my favs. I hope you get to read Code Name Verity soon, it’s amazing!! And you should have seen my face when I heard about the Hamilton book, I CAN’T WAIT TO READ IT!!! As if I need to fuel my obsession more… Hopefully we both read more Schwab books this year, let’s make that a goal for both of us!

      Like

  3. Yes! I feel like Fantasy is all the rage these days and I’m not complaining. Rhys is definitely one of my favorite characters too! I don’t think you’ll find another like him though I’ve tried.You also reminded that I forgot to mention the Winner’s Circle in my list. I really enjoyed reading this post. Happy New Year!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The Winners Trilogy covers are SO PRETTY. I can’t wait to read A Court of Mist and Fury, as I really enjoyed book one. I also definitely need to someday read Aristotle and Dante and the Secrets of the Universe. I’ve heard such great things about it! Ahh, Code Name Verity. That book crushed my soul. *cries forever* Gah, how could I have forgotten the gang of the Lunar Chronicles for fave non-romantic relationships? I love their friendship, and their banter was fabulous. And omg, Alex and Eliza. I CAN’T WAIT FOR THAT ONE. I am obsessed with Hamilton and need to read it. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Victoria! I hope you have a wonderful reading year. 🙂

    -Holly @ The Fox’s Hideaway

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES, they’re gorgeous! ACOMAF is even better than the first one, so get ready. Verity was HEARTBREAKING, but in the best way. The banter is just perfect, some of those lines are hilarious. And let’s not even get me started on my Hamilton obsession, it’s probably a bit of a problem. Thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

