Posted in Posts, Wrap Ups

Reading Challenges; The Successes and The Failures

Early in 2016, I got over ambitious and wrote a list of all the reading challenges I wanted to enter. I’ve been doing semi-regular updates, but haven’t done one in a while. This is it, then, all my successes, and the failures that are thankfully way smaller. My last count for these challenges was at the end of August, so I’ll be taking numbers from then! 

  1. The E Book ChallengeAiming for 20. At last count I’d read 15, and since then I’ve read another EIGHT. That means I read 23 in total, so I COMPLETED THIS CHALLENGE! Woo hoo, yay me! And yay for short e-books that are easy to help me get my reading numbers up. According to this challenge, this has me almost at megabytes, which is 25! EBook Challenge.jpg
  2. Flights of Fantasy. Aiming for 20, which I’d completed by August. I didn’t put the number up to anything more specific, but I read at least another 15. This year has been weirdly full of fantasy, so I KICKED BUTT at this challenge. 
  3. Rock My TBRAiming for 35. Last count was 28, and I read another 10 physical books, plus all my e-books! A lot of those were re-reads, but at least that means I could get rid of some, right? Or box them up? Anyway, shush, I DID IT! Rock My TBR
  4. Finishing the Series. Finish three series, a goal that was daunting in August, but easy peasy now. I read the entirety of the Lunar Chronicles, both A Court of Thorns and Roses books, Empire of Storms, Cursed Child, and Retribution of Mara Dyer to finish all three of those series! Plus City of Heavenly Fire and Morning Star, because I’d confused myself with what my goal was. That means I read two entire series, and finished 8 total! EIGHT SERIES you guys!!! Finishing the series.jpg
  5. Popsugar 2016

Popsugar 2016.jpg

At last count I had 27, and it still felt completely impossible. I’ll warn you; it was impossible. I didn’t stick to this at all, but I did read some that fit, almost accidentally! I only actually missed 7, which I’m hugely impressed with. Sure, I lied a little for some – I mean, Cursed Child isn’t a movie, but it’s a play, so that counts right? And New Zealand is an island, so books set here count for that! Most of them I did properly read, though, and I did way better than I expected to! 

So, there’s how I did in terms of reading in 2016. Completely all my challenges but one is seriously impressive, and I’m maybe too proud of myself. BUT YAY ME! Some good did come out of 2016! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

4 thoughts on “Reading Challenges; The Successes and The Failures

Leave a Reply

