Posted in Exciting Events, Posts

A Party Animal

First off, let me just point out that this title is completely ironic. It’s just that compared to how I was even a few months ago, I am WILD. It’s a bit late now to get into those party groups now that we’re all leaving high school and each other, but hey, better late than never right? 

The first one I got invited to was one that my closest friend held. It was never a question that I’d be invited, and I actually had such a good time. I was surprised, honestly, because it doesn’t seem like my sort of thing at all. I didn’t get drunk, just tipsy enough to be confident, and that was PERFECT. It was all people that I knew fairly well, and I danced and just generally had a great time. Afterwards, a couple of people said they were surprised I got so into it, because it doesn’t seem like me, and they were really happy for me. So yay for that! 

I got invited to a Halloween party a few months later, and that was a completely different atmosphere. It was a lot bigger, for starters, and that meant I wasn’t able to just go and dance with whoever. Plus, I found out that my friend is not always a good drunk, and can sometimes be a very depressed drunk. He would never ask me to stay with him, but I would never leave him either. It does ruin your night a bit though… The best part of this dancingwas dancing with my crush and getting a lift home with her to drop off people who were incredibly drunk (she wasn’t drinking, don’t worry!). Oh, and let’s not forget smuggling her and a couple of her friends into my house because they couldn’t go home being that drunk. The Head Boy threw up on my driveway. It’s a heck of a story. 

In the last two weeks, though, I’ve gone to two parties, each on a Friday! Same person’s house, same general group of people, and just a generally fantastic time. After the last two, especially the Head Boy debacle, I’m finally getting recognised as more than just a nerd. Sure, I don’t want to get really really drunk, but I’m also not going to hide in a corner away from all the alcohol, you know? People are recognising that yes, I DO want to go to a party, so please invite me! I don’t know how long this is going to last, because I had to push to get invited to the first one (just “no, I’m not going, could you plus one me?”), but hopefully it’s becoming more of a thing now! This group of people is genuinely so wonderful, so I really hope they keep inviting me to things. I had such a good time at the last two, helping a friend with a sprained ankle up a hill at 4am, wandering down to the beach and getting caught up on all the gossip with two girls I’m not hugely close with, even taking a shot like the ruckus I am (SARCASM, guys, I don’t think I’m that cool). 

Basically, I’m a cool kid now. It’s just fact. What can you do, right?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

