Posted in A better look at me, Posts

Adulting (scary emails and scarier phone calls)

I’m very very aware than in just a few months I’m not going to be living at home with my parents. Sure, a hall of residence at uni will still have people looking after me, but I’ll have to do A LOT of adulting. With this in mind, I’ve been doing a heck of a lot of scary things, and I’m overly proud of myself considering how small they are. Adulting.jpg

The first one is scary phone calls. I mean, do I really need the word scary in there? All phone calls are terrifying. We have a helpful site in New Zealand called Student Job Search, and I’m frantically looking for any possible way to earn money over the summer for uni. Unfortunately, for every job you apply for, you have to call up and do a mini-interview (two or three questions) so they can refer you to the job people. And you can only do two at once, which means a lot of phone calls! The first one was genuinely terrifying, my heart was hammering way more than it should have been for the situation. I had no idea how long this interview was meant to be, what sort of questions they’d ask, how the site works, NOTHING. Luckily, the people were absolutely lovely and helpful and it wasn’t that bad in the end! Now, I feel like I’m calling all the time so I can get these jobs, and its much less scary than it was the first time. Adulting, check!

Although I’ve conquered the fear of calling these people, that doesn’t mean the fear has gone away. Just today I had to call some people to sort out taxes (ooo) and a savings account – both of which I’ve been doing for ages, I just couldn’t access anything online and had to call to activate the account. And I was all terrified again! I think it’s the idea of not knowing what was going to happen in the call, same with talking to anyone in any social interaction. I can’t plan out what I’m going to say because I have to respond RIGHT NOW. I mean, talking to people in real life is scary too, but I can’t overthink it as much as I do before I pick up the phone. The point is, though, that I am actually making the calls, not putting them off or making my mummy do it!

Scream phone call.png
It me

Emails are definitely less scary, but that doesn’t mean they’re not bad. With the job application stuff, it’s easy peasy. I send my cv, I act all polite and stuff, I can ask questions and I’m not afraid to answer theirs. I definitely think its the idea that if it all falls apart, I can go to other people and ask them to read over my response, or read over the angry email they sent me and help me out. Or, I can just not reply at all if it really gets that bad. Last night, though, I sent an email that was far scarier than any email I’ve sent before. My hours at work have dropped a LOT, from like 5 days to 1, and my holiday hours are looking just as bad. So, I sent out the email asking for more, and questioning why my hours have dropped so much. I envisioned being fired dramatically for being so rude, or her telling me that I was terrible at my job and didn’t deserve it (all the worst case scenarios, of course). She explained what was what though, and was very polite about it, so success!

This is only two adult things I have to do, there’s so much more I’m still scared of that I have to do… Let’s focus on being proud of me for doing this, though! YAY ME. I am adult!

Let’s celebrate you! What scary thing have you done recently? Do you adult? Aren’t we GREAT?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

16 thoughts on “Adulting (scary emails and scarier phone calls)

  1. I hate calling people too. I even hate answering the phone when I don’t know the person on the other end really well. I’ve had to get over it working at my new job though. It’s still scary and adult though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I maybe should call those people of a company I’m supposed to call for like a month, but I still haven’t done it because I don’t want to call them and it’s too easy not to call them. Since it has been a month I’m afraid they’re going to be like, why didn’t you call three weeks ago??
    I will call them today!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hahaha, I love this post. I made a dentist appointment yesterday over the phone and I was so proud. Actually, I have to answer the phone a lot for my new job, so that has helped me a lot with phone call confidence. Emails I’m good with. I think like anything, the more you do it, the less scary it gets.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

