Posted in CHRISTMAS, Posts

Getting into the Christmas spirit

2016 simultaneously feels like its lasted forever, and that it was really only the blink of an eye. I can’t believe its December already, but also don’t we really deserve it after this year? With this strange sort of mood going on, I haven’t been 100% in the Christmas spirit, or even the summer spirit. Its finally started to click, though!

We put up our Christmas tree about a week ago, and that got me HYPED. Christmas carols playing, putting the angel on top, the annual present of a new decoration… This is Christmas in all its glory, and boy oh boy do I love it. But little things just weren’t right; there were no candy canes, no presents underneath, none of that real Christmas joy. Because how is it December already??Harry Potter tree.jpg

Then I started actually buying presents, and that’s when I got properly into the Christmas mood. There are three under the tree at the moment, all from me, and I have another one being delivered any day now. My mum lets us buy some (most) of our own presents, because she has no idea what to get us, so I’ve been doing online shopping and ordering ALL THE THINGS. 

And snacks, the most important bit, are finally being bought. I’m talking chocolate to feed a small army, those big boxes of biscuits and little buckets you can only get this time of year, MINCE PIES, meringues, a thing that you twist to get the Jaffas out hanging on the wall… Every sweet thing you could ever want is here, in our house, and more importantly in my stomach. This is CHRISTMAS, people!

Now, I just count down to the actual day. More presents. More food. All the songs, all the happiness, all the CHRISTMAS, AND I CAN’T WAIT! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Getting into the Christmas spirit

Leave a Reply

