Posted in Posts, Wrap Ups

Oh yeah, NaNo…

I’ve given you two NaNo updates through the course of the month. The first, where I announced I was having a go, and the second, where I celebrated being ahead of the game. This third one, though, comes with a bit of disappointment, but a whole lot of pride; I didn’t complete it. 

So where does the pride bit come from, you ask? Well, I wrote 26,744 words. Can we say that again? TWENTY SIX THOUSAND WORDS. And all before life caught up to me on the 15th! Isn’t that insane? I said from the start that as long as I wrote something I considered it a success, and I really do stand by that. I mean, I mostly said it because I expected to get stuck and only write a couple of thousand, so for me to way surpass my expectations makes me feel so accomplished!elmo-dancing

Why didn’t I finish it, you ask? Well, exams made me more busy than I thought, for some reason. Every year I expect to not feel hugely stressed, yet every year I do… I had seven exams, from the 10th of November to the 1st of December, and although I wrote some days at the start, every time I wrote I felt like I was wasting precious study time. I know, not a good mindset to have, but I couldn’t get rid of it. Some were a lot more important than others, and took loads and loads of study time out of me. Plus, you know, all the general living stuff on top of that. The thing is, November is always a terrible month for me because of exams, so we shouldn’t be surprised I didn’t finish!

I feel like I’ve done really well though, and it definitely forced me out of my writing slump. Starting now, and going until mid-February, I have no school. Nothing. Not even over the summer homework since I’m starting university next year. I know I’ll go insane having so much free time to myself. Hmm, if only I had a novel to finish writing and start editing… When I get my own laptop that’ll make it even easier! I’ve still got a lot to do, but hey, why not add another project?Writing Quotes

Whether you wrote 50 words or 50,000 during NaNo, I’m super proud of you! I’ve learned the hard way that it’s not at all an easy task, so for all of you who have a go, you’re amazing. Remember, like the photo says, this month is about writing, not necessarily about writing a novel, so if you wrote any more than you usually would in a month, that should be considered a win for you! 

I’d love to hear how you went, so let me know! Do you think you’d try it another year? Will you be joining me in frantically trying to finish in December?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

8 thoughts on “Oh yeah, NaNo…

  1. Aw man congrats! That’s actually amazing that you managed to write so much on top of so many exams!! Definitely an achievement. I spent the first few weeks pushing through trying to recover from my final assessments but I managed to catch up (I feel behind by like 15,000 words) and hit 52k yesterday!! Very pleased with myself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

