Posted in Looking Ahead, Posts

Dewey’s 24 Hour/Hogwarts House Cup Readathons

Yep, it’s that time of year again! 24 hours of solid reading, in a seemingly impossible venture that I continue to attempt. 

According to the website, Dewey’s readathon is described as this: For 24 hours, we read books, post to our blogs, Twitters, Tumblrs, Goodreads and MORE about our reading, and visit other readers’ homes online. We also participate in mini-challenges throughout the day. It happens twice a year, in April and in October.

It was created by the beloved Dewey (her blog is archived at the Wayback Machine). The first one was held in October 2007. Dewey died in late 2008. We’re still saddened by her absence, but the show must go on. The read-a-thon was renamed to honor its founder in 2009.

Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon is hosted by Heather and Andi of The Estella Society, with help from volunteers

For me, it’s a chance to connect with new readers, and challenge myself to read more than I usually would. It’s also a chance to ignore all of those worries, get rid of all the distractions, and just read. How often do we get a chance to do that?

I participated in this in both October last year and April this year, and I had a great time both times. This October, I want to attempt it on a bigger and better scale. We have a long weekend, so who needs sleep, right? I’m also participating in the Hogwarts readathon, so I can get some books crossed off my list for that! 

The things we’re doing for the Hogwarts readathon are listed below, so here comes my Dewey TBR/Hogwarts update thing. 

A red book – 5 points. I’ve already read my book for this one, hooray! It was a pretty short one, and not particularly good. Properly something I’ll add to my pile to get rid of… 

Hogwarts Houses.jpgA blue book – 5 points. I plan on reading the Yellow Lighted Bookshop (ironic name, but trust me) for this – short, and if it sucks I can get physical bookshelf space. 

A green book – 5 points. I’m going to read The Bridge for this, a fairly short Kindle book to get off my TBR

A yellow book – 5 points. After the readathon I’ll be getting out More Happy Than Not, and it’ll be my first read once Dewey is over

Read an orange book for Halloween – 5 points. This one I’m not planning for, but do want to complete. I have a whole heap of books I want to re-read to decide if I want to keep them or not, so I’ll just try and make sure one of them is orange. I know, I’m a terrible planner… Halloween

Read 3 books featuring magic (NOT Harry Potter) – 15 points. I’ve already read the Retribution of Mara Dyer, AND Empire of Storms, so I’ve nearly finished this category! I have planned are books 2 and 3 of the Descent series, but I won’t be starting that until the November part of the readathon. 

Read a book you don’t want to read at night – 5 points. I’m an intense wuss, but I’m going to try and read The Immortal. Ideally I’ll read it in little bits over Saturday, but we’ll see how brave I’m feeling… 

Read a book featuring a ghost/ghosts (NOT Harry Potter) – 5 points. If anyone has some recommendations, that would be greatly appreciated! I don’t know what good ones there are?

Read a book that came out this October – 5 points. I have Holding Up the Universe reserved, we’ll see if I can get it in time… 

So, specifically for Dewey, I have 3 and a half books books planned. There’s no way I’ll get them all done, but hopefully I’ll get two finished? Really, my main goal is to get more hours read, so properly starting at midnight, and staying up as late as possible then. A chunk will be taken out from a Skype call, but my loves are worth it 😉 

Are you doing either of the readathons? Have you planned a TBR, or are you just going to wing it? Let me know!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

5 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour/Hogwarts House Cup Readathons

  1. I’m participating in the 24 hour read-a-thon. I have a big TBR pile, but I’ll probably just read a few books from it. Hope your day is off to a great start so far!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

