Posted in Music, Posts

My Latest Obsession… With Hamilton

For a long time, everyone (namely Angel) has been telling me to listen to the Hamilton. Did I listen? No, of course not, I thought it was just another internet trend that I didn’t want to get involved in. Then, on a particularly stressy day (note; not stressful, just stressy), I decided I should do some colouring in, and listen to something I had to concentrate on. A podcast, maybe? No, Hamilton

Here we are, exactly one week on. I was trying to think what my next post should be, as I attempted to rap My Shot (I can do almost all of Alexander’s bit in Aaron Burr, My Shot is the next mission), when it came to me that I should just have a fangirly chat. Guys, I am obsessed. It’s not like I’ve listened to it just a few times; I listen to it on every walk to and from school, despite my brain screaming that I should be going over my exam notes. I my-shotprefer the first half of the soundtrack to the second, just because it’s more upbeat and cheerful. The plot is more cheerful, but the actual songs are more fun to sing along to (and dance, if the day requires that). On my first listen, the last half was the part that had me throwing things across the room, and sitting in dead silence staring at my phone in horror. This is a traumatic ride people, I’m warning you. 

In terms of characters, I have a major crush on Angelica (Eliza can get out, Alexander so made the wrong choice). I kind of have a crush on Alexander too, but he’d be such high maintenance, and I’m not here for that. Burr (sir) is very cool to sing about, but a bit irritating in terms of how great he could be. I haven’t quite got involved in the emotions of everyone else; who ships who together? Who do people hate the most? I need to start using that dusty tumblr I have hidden away somewhere. And yes, I’ve done my research, and it’s fascinating seeing how similar it actually all is to how the events happened in real life. Like, tiny details that are fairly unimportant, that they ensured still come up in the story. I’m from New Zealand, meaning American history is something I know very little about, so it was interesting learning so much about that. If I’m honest, I didn’t realise Hamilton was a real person until Washington turned up… Look, I am EDUCATED now, and loving it! Schuyler Sisters.jpg

I’ve been watching some fan-made videos though. Since I’m obviously never going to get to see the actual show, I have to live vicariously through the little that’s out there on the internet. This is generally people with their own interpretations of the song; this group is my particular favourite so far, but I’d love more recommendations, please and thank you. 

I know, I know, I’m way late on this bandwagon. I’m here now though, finally! And I’m desperate to become fully imersed in the fandom, so please welcome me with open arms, and give me all the advice on the best places to go to find more fellow-minded losers. 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

22 thoughts on “My Latest Obsession… With Hamilton

  1. I gained great respect for Eliza when I realized she beat-boxed in one of the songs (and Burn is such a powerful song!), but Angelica is definitely my first love, on Satisfied alone.

    I kind of laugh at how much American history I now remember because of Hamilton. As an American, I kept going: “WHERE WAS THIS MUSICAL WHEN I WAS IN HIGH SCHOOL?” Just. Addicting.

    Welcome to the fold 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, which one does she beat box in? But yeah, Satisfied is just too good, she’s so strong and I love that.
      I wish I had someplace I’d need to use this knowledge too! As a New Zealander I can’t imagine it’s going to come up much…

      Like

  2. ugh i just recently started listening to this soundtrack too and i’m obsessed, whoops! i didn’t want to jump on the bandwagon at first because i didn’t understand the hype but now i do and gahhhh i love it. we were building and painting sets this weekend for my school’s production and one of my friends owns the soundtrack so that’s what we listened to and i was so proud of myself the two of us sang my shot, the schuyler sisters, a winter’s ball, helpless, and what’d i miss together and it was fabulous.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I also was not interested at first to listening to Hamilton, but once I listened to it a few times I fell in love with it! Angelica is my favorite as well and I also think Hamilton made the wrong decision as well! But my other favorite was Aaron Burr.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

