Posted in Discussions, Posts

I Don’t Know Much About Politics…

But I did watch the debate the other night, and I can tell you America is just a little bit screwed. Right now, it’s up to you guys to choose the lesser of two evils. It’s a bit of a lose-lose situation, at least from what it looks like to me. Luckily, I live far far away from America, so I don’t have to be involved in any of that. If you think that means I’m not affected, though, you’re unfortunately wrong. America is such a huge superpower that their government affects too much of what we do, regardless of where we’re from. 

Trump

I can’t understand how anyone thinks he has a good stance. From watching the debate, I don’t even know what he plans to do when he gets elected, because he just talked around the questions. He hardly answered anything, and still managed to come across as an idiot. He interrupted Clinton, and complained whenever he was interrupted himself. He acted like a child in that debate, and it honestly disgusted me to think there are people out there who think that he’ll made a good president. A lot of his policies that he did manage to get across seem to be the opposite of whatever Clinton wants to do, and he seems to want to harm a lot of different groups of people. Not letting a single Muslim into the country? How is he even going to work that out? 

However, I do know I’m pretty biased, because everyone I know is anti-Trump. I only ever hear the racist, homophobic, anti-Islam, generally negative things he has to say, and none of what his supporters consider his positive stuff. I can definitely recognise that the media I’m presented with is anti-Trump, and so are all of my friends and family, so the decision I’m making isn’t really based on my own research and knowledge. 

Clinton

Victoria, you’re anti-Trump, you must be pro-Clinton, right?

Wrong. She’s so far from perfect. I wish we’d stop going on and on about those damn emails, but she has a lot of other stuff going against her too. She can’t seem to be able to admit the flaws in anything, and although they discussed a lot of stuff I’m not really educated about, I do know she was being a bit naieve about some things. Just make Obama Care cheaper? Gee, what a good idea, I bet no one ever thought of that! And I don’t know if Trump’s statistics about the increase in immigration was correct (it probably wasn’t), but has she actually thought about the impact of taking in so many refugees? Help out, of course, always, but when your own country is so screwed up, you might want to focus on that first. I think she lives in a little bubble, and might get a shock when she has to do some actual presidential things. 

In saying that, she has a lot going for her, as well. I like when she can prove she’s done great things, like everything she’s done to help children in need. I like that she can pinpoint the mistakes Trump is going to make in terms of stopping human rights, and that she’s very clear she’s all for equality, no matter who you are. 

Who would I vote for?

To me, the choice is really clear. Clinton has got to win this. Then in a few years time, we can start all over and pretend this never happened. I’ve heard an argument that at least Trump is going to do something, and yeah, that’s true. But looking at some of the things they both want to do, I’d probably rather nothing was done until we can get some better onto the job. Trump says he’s going to do a lot, but most of it looks like it’s going to directly harm other people, and he’s just guessing that it might help America. “Make America great again” translates to “make America white again,” and that’s just not good for anyone. It’s peace treaties versus military action, illegally smuggled in Muslims versus legal and happy Muslims. The choice seems stupidly clear to me, and I worry about the people who don’t see the same point of view. It’s so so important that you vote, because just as England learned, your vote actually does matter. So much is hinging on this, and even if you’re voting for the lesser of two evils, or the one who won’t do anything, that’s got to be better than the alternative. Right?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

4 thoughts on “I Don’t Know Much About Politics…

  1. It’s funny (not in a hahaha way) how Trump wants to ban Muslims from coming into America because it’s “not their country” or whatever (and the same argument goes for immigrants), but when you remember that a few hundred years ago when the Europeans arrived in America, they butchered all the Native Americans who already lived there… There is absolutely no logic in it? I would vote for Clinton if I was American, for the same reasons as you: every vote that doesn’t go towards Clinton will help Trump to win, and that’s something no one needs…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it’s really interesting how Americans have twisted their history so much! It’s very easy to paint everyone else as the villain instead of trying to fix all the ridiculous things America has done

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

