Posted in Discussions, Posts

I Hate Spoilers!

Not just like a normal person; I’m a massive spoiler-phobe, I avoid spoilers at all costs. It almost makes it difficult to live everyday life, when I’m so set on avoiding even the tiniest spoiler. 

Spoiler Alert.gif
This is genuinely too much info

Obviously, there’s the normal stuff. Don’t tell me the ending, or any of the relationships, or anything that doesn’t happen within the first chapter. Surely that’s a spoiler no matter who you are, right? That’s when I stop being a normal person. I don’t actually want to know anything that even happens in the first chapter. I only want to know the blurb, and even then I don’t read the blurb once I’ve added it to my TBR. The first sentence involves a cat? Nope, too much, I can’t know she owns a cat!!! What if that cat turns out to be one of the most important characters in destroying the evil aliens? 

With movies, it’s even worse. I vaguely hear about a movie, deem it good enough to watch, and that’s that. I don’t watch the trailer; I literally don’t want to know anything about the film. Unless I’m forced into it through the ads before the movie I’m seeing, I never watch trailers. I don’t want to know anythingSpoilers - Sansa.gif

And yes, my friends think I’m absolutely insane. They can’t understand it at all. I get made fun of a lot for it, to the point where my friends actually spoil a whole bunch of stuff for me just to laugh. It’s incredibly frustrating, especially knowing I’m the only one that hates spoilers that much. Example; I was given a run-down of all the characters in the game we were playing in class, so I went in with pre-established ideas. Even “they all die or they almost all survive” is a spoiler, because it tells me a little bit about how much I can actually control. I was told how I should feel about the characters, meaning I don’t get that chance to decide how I actually feel about them myself. Do I hate this character, or did I hate them before I walked into the room? 

The worst thing about that is that a spoiler can really ruin a movie or book for me. If I know that Bob and Susan end up together by the end of the movie, I actually won’t watch the movie. Sure, it’s about saving the world, the romance is a tiny part of it; but why should I watch it when I know part of the ending? Having a spoiler, no matter how small, can actually ruin the entire experience for me, or ensure I don’t get the experience at all. I can’t care at the near-death experiences, because I know those two get their happily ever afters at the end. 

Am I crazy, or am I not alone? Is anyone else as intense as I am? Please let me know! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

15 thoughts on “I Hate Spoilers!

  1. I get so mad whenever I get spoilers from my favorite TV shows. What’s the point in watching if I know what is going to happen? I don’t mind movie trailers, but stay away from me if you’re thinking about giving me spoilers about my books or tv shows!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i hate spoilers too, but not nearly as much as one of my friends! on those rare occasions that i’m just sick of a show or book or something and want to know how it ends without having to finish reading/watching it, i’ll try and ask her if she knows but she absolutely refuses to tell me. it’s pretty funny actually, the lengths she goes through to avoid giving or receiving spoilers are rather hilarious.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s funny that she won’t tell you anything either! It could definitely be a good thing if you don’t want a spoiler, but when you’re actually asking for the ending… I don’t think I’m that intense 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I personally don’t really care about spoilers. While scrolling through Tumblr I make sure to ignore posts relating to books I haven’t read. I don’t watch movie trailers like you but I will if I’m really excited or don’t know what the movie is about.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think over time I have become more spoiler adverse, and dislike the more minor things now as well. But I do happily watch movie trailers – though then again they are mainly the book adaptations that I’m interested in seeing, which I’ve already read, so those are more to see what they have done to things, and to get me hyped about it.
    I don’t find it too hard to avoid spoilers – the only thing is when people are discussing stuff in person.
    And I have much disdain now for TV ‘in the next episode’ because either it ruins everything and tells you what happens, or it overblows the whole situation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

