Posted in Discussions, Posts

I Care Too Much

Here’s the problem; I find myself stressed out a lot. Like, probably more than a healthy amount. And I write to-do lists, and organise my time better, and listen to calming music, and all that stuff you’re meant to do. The problem? Well, it doesn’t particularly work… 

I think I’ve cracked the case, though; I care way too much. 

I think I care just the right amount about myself, so that’s great. It’s when other people become involved that it gets too much. Let’s take my friends, for example. Good, intelligent people. Lazy, though. Lazy to a fault. I’m talking “oh wait, it’s due on Wednesday? I thought it was Friday!” and frantically starting the weekend before. They get it done, and they (mostly) get good grades. But while I’m trying to get my own assessment done, I’m also that friend that reads through what everyone else has written to try and help them improve their grades. Then my own work starts getting on top of me, and I end up way more stressed about this one little assessment than I really needed to be in the first place. 

The reason I’m realising this is because it’s time to start studying for mock exams. Not real exams, luckily, but we still need to get some study done. Here’s what my day looked like on Saturday;

  1. Wake up, laze around, do nothing productive
  2. Do some classics revision (the subject I’m struggling with the most)
  3. Send classics summary booklet to friend, who hasn’t done it himself
  4. Lunch break!
  5. Help younger brother with maths
  6. Argue with younger brother about maths
  7. Do a little bit more classics revision
  8. Send updated notes to friend
  9. Help younger brother do health revision
  10. Reading and blogging break (which is right now!)

Do you see my struggle? But I don’t know how to say no to these people when they ask for help. Then my study is suffering because I spend too much time helping all these other people. And I get STRESSED when I should just be SAYING NO. 

Hopefully I’ll get better at this soon. There’s only so much I can help my brother with, since I haven’t taken all of the subjects he’s taking. I’ll still try, though, because I can’t say no when someone needs me for something, no matter how much it’s damaging me. Sigh sigh sighCare Too Much.jpg

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

6 thoughts on “I Care Too Much

  1. I think you should plan your day and try very hard to go by your plan. It’s okay to help others. Helping your brother with his work is just part of what a sister does. Plan your time so that you don’t spend all your time doing just one thing or the other. I hope this helps. 💕💕💕😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aww Victoria you’re so kind to help your friends and brother with their work but PLEASE make sure you have enough time to do all of your work too. Although I know how hard it is to say no to people, just remember it’s perfectly ok to say you can’t help someone from time to time because YOU have too much work. At the end of the day how your friends do is their responsibility and you won’t be there to help them out forever. I hope things get less stressful for you soon. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

