Posted in Discussions, Posts

Nighttime Creativity

Why do the best ideas come when you’re not in a place to act on them? The shower, a walk, the middle of the night… I want to get up and film right now, don’t tell me I can’t! The notes on my phone are so full of ideas, except they’re always something vague like “nighttime,” and I have no idea what I mean the next morning. How am I meant to remember every idea that pops into my head when I can’t act on them straight away?

The absolute worst is the shower, because I have no chance of writing something down. Sure, nighttime is hard, because I wake up with only half a thought left over. At least I have that half though! Showers give me a lot of time to think, because I can’t do anything else, and this means I come up with a lot of great ideas, and a lot of things I need to get done. Do any of them get done, you ask? Well, just ask the shampoo bottles that sit on my shower floor for weeks. I forget basically instantly. 

Luckily, the idea I came up with the other night came at a perfect time. I wanted to be asleep, but I wasn’t quite there, so it didn’t feel like the end of the world to pick up my phone and type out some notes. And you know what I wrote? An entire poem. With different shots to go with it for my YouTube video (watch this space to see that). I’m not at all a poetry writer. I sometimes write fiction, but I don’t do it often enough. Poetry, though? Never. So this was very impressive late-night writing! 

There are pros and cons to those terrible times when ideas strike. You can never sit down and force an idea out, but you can’t create them as soon as they come to you in the shower. Often, though, those are the ideas that you really fall in love with

(image from this tumblr)

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Nighttime Creativity

  1. I think we have to be twins from different families because as I get to know you, the list of similarities gets longer and longer 😉 I consider myself a night owl and most of my great ideas come at night however I have had lots of weird dreams too. I can’t wait to read your poem, I have written poetry for 11 years but I haven’t written a thing since college due to lack of inspiration, so maybe I’ll get inspiration from reading your poetry 🙂 Great post as always Victoria!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

