Posted in Exciting Events, Posts

I’m Surprisingly Well Travelled

Considering I’m 18, I’ve been to a lot of places. My parents have always been travelers (they were to Africa for their honeymoon), so it was bred into my from a young age. I’ve been taking roadtrips across New Zealand for as long as I can remember, to the point where a four hour drive to my grandparents is nothing. Family holidays are common, happening at least once a year. This can be anything from snow to beaches to busy cities to tourist towns to towns with only a hundred people. My parents believe in seeing your own country before you see the rest, and we’ve done our best to do that. 

The first really big trip I went on was to America, for my dad’s 40th birthday, and my 5th. Being so little, I only remember bits of it, but the bits I do remember are amazing. Disneyland was of course the highlight, even if Captain Hook did make me cry… The Grand Canyon was disappointing, but the hotels in Vegas more than made up for it. San Diego was also great, if I’m remembering rightly… Listen, it’s all very bitsy. Image result for disneyland california captain hook

Being in New Zealand, Australia is the easiest place to go to, and man have we made the most of that! I went to Brisbane when I was around 7, and again when I was maybe 10. The Gold Coast is the real reason we went there, because it’s full of fantastic theme parks. My favourite are the two water ones, Wet n Wild and Whitewater World. I’m such a water kid, I adore swimming whenever I possibly can. Movie World has the best people to meet, but the rides are far too scary for a wuss like me. I’ve also been to Melbourne, three years ago. It was because my brother was doing gymnastics there, but we didn’t have to spend time at the gym with him for the whole week. We went to a really great market, and the zoo was amazing. It was the first time I’d ever seen an elephant, and holy moly are they amazing! It was such a relaxing trip. 

My great-grandmother comes from the Cook Islands, so we’ve been to Rarotonga twice. Two of my great aunts lived there, and they cooked us the greatest meal I’ve probably ever had. The first time, we hired a little cabin, a minute away from the beach, for my brother’s birthday. I was 12. We went snorkeling and exploring, but basically sat on the beach for a week. This might sound boring to you, but it was basically the best week ever. It was so peaceful, and I read so much. The second time was a bit more touristy, because we stayed in a fancier place. I was 14 that time. Basically all this meant was a little bit more shopping, some kayaking, more snorkeling, and a couple of other water related things. Like I said before, I love the water, and I get that love from my family, so we were more than happy to spend our whole trip in the water. This is probably the place we’re most likely to visit again, because it’s the best to get away from all the stress of real life.
Rarotonga.jpg

My most recent trip was on an exchange to Arizona last year, which I talk about in a lot more detail here. It was 5 weeks with an amazing group of people, including my host sister, aka my favourite person in the whole wide world. Disney was probably the highlight, but simple things like going to In n Out after every group event, and playing handball at 1am in the McDonald’s car park, and rolling down a grassy hill with Jon, and dancing to the Cupid Shuffle are the sorts of things that really made the trip the best. I can honestly say that that one changed my life.

I have big plans for the future in terms of places I want to go; the world is beautiful, and different everywhere you go, and I want to see every part of it. Plus, I have people to visit! This is only the beginning of my adventures

Note; most of these photos aren’t mine, because none of those ones are online!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

