Posted in Looking Ahead, Posts

The Importance of Having A Schedule

As someone who has now had a job for a term, I can tell you how incredibly important it is to have a routine, or a schedule. My shift is never the same, and I work from anywhere from two to five mornings a week. My parents felt so sorry for me when I told them I was working five mornings again this week, but for me it’s a hundred times better. I like getting up at the same time every day, it makes me less tired. I like knowing exactly how much free time I have a week between work and school, and more time gives me a shorter to-do list by the end of the week. I get into a good routine, and I love that. 

What I’m only just realising it how important it is to do this in other parts of my life. Sure, it’s good that I have the same sleep schedule every day. Why not the same blogging schedule? Or writing, or exercise, or all of those things I say I’m going to do and don’t get around to? When it comes to exam time, I always write myself a study timetable, so that I can take out the stress of planning what to do on the day. During study leave, this makes complete sense to me. Outside of study leave, though, I make it up as I go along. And what makes me more stressed, do you think? 

Planner.jpg
Should I aspire to be this YouTuber

I think it’s beyond time I start working out a more structured routine. It doesn’t have to be completely stuck to – if I have an awful, stressful day, I don’t want to come home to do more stressful things. It’d probably be really good for my mental health to have some sort of a plan, though. Nice stationary and organised calendars make me more happy than they should, and I would love to exploit some good planning diaries and to-do lists. 

So, here’s where I come to you for help! To be a more structured person, what do you think I should do? Is it as simple as “on Wednesday we write, on Thursday we study,” or should it be more organised than that? If you’re a planner, what places do you get your planning things from? Let me know, so I can start being the organised person I need to be! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

6 thoughts on “The Importance of Having A Schedule

  1. I actually do try to write on certain days, even if I have to schedule my posts. I think that I definitely schedule the majority of my posts, but they are still written on certain days. All of my Monday posts are pretty much written on a Sunday afternoon/evening. Sometimes I write a few posts at once, that are then spread over a few days. Sometimes my brain works really fast and then not so much on other days. So don’t be too hard on yourself if you need to schedule posts here and then.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well when I go back go college I will possibly write some blogs in advance and publish them on different days. Make a time table of the things you do ,getrevising.com is a great timetable maker for study but it is transferable. Look at the gaps fill in when you want to write. I hope this helps.
    ~SS

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This post came at a good time for me! Today I decided to divide my to-do list into blocks. On blue days, I do things that relate to the blog and my writing, and on purple (I based it off what color sticky notes I had XD) days I do things that relate to coding and clubs I’m invested in. It’s not very original, but it helps me to stay on track. I like doing a lot of work for each thing I do in a day, so I don’t want to try to cram it all in each day.

    Working and learning can be really hard at times. Best of luck to you! 😀

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

