Posted in Mental Health, Posts

Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD)

I hate the word depression. No, listen, I don’t hate people who have depression. I feel awful for them. It’s people who use it when they don’t know anything about it that make me mad – there’s a huge difference between people who are a bit upset, and people who actually have a chemical imbalance in their brain. So I’m reluctant to use the word when I’m having one of my sad phases, because I don’t want to minimise the struggle actual depressed people are going through. I also really, really hate self diagnosis of things. People who read up on all their symptoms and convince themselves they’re dying from a cold are not healthy people, and I definitely don’t want to become someone like them. 

In saying all that, I do get sad. Like, really sad. And being the person I am, I came across some self diagnosis I feel I fit really well – seasonal affective disorder, or, SAD. Basically, it’s when you become depressed during certain seasons (usually winter). Your eating patterns go (check), you lose interest in your usual activities (see my post on that), your sleep pattern changes (check), you get irritated with the people you’re around (check) and the things you’re doing (see my YouTube video on school). I can basically pinpoint the time it happens – I started a blog this time two years ago, and I don’t know if that’s a coincidence. Last year, I put it down to missing the people I’d left in America a month before. Right now, I’m putting my blog through all these changes, and obsessing over a particular girl. I hate everything I usually love to do, and I’m still looking for that perfect something that’s going to put me in a better mood. Like I said, I hate self diagnosis, but I can admit I fit a lot of these things. 

In saying all that, I have no idea where to go next from here. I’m not going to go see anyone, because of the rant I just had above. What I need is some home solution, some project that’ll help me take my mind off everything. Or, what I really probably need is summer. Some gorgeous sunshine to stop me feeling this awful tiredness of life (not in a suicidal way, don’t worry). I want trips to the beach, reading outside, going for walks down the river. I WANT SUMMER SO BAD, YOU GUYS. And I genuinely think it’ll help. However, if there’s something else I can do in the meantime… I don’t know, is there anything you can do? Or is this just one of those things you have to deal with until it gets worse? 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

10 thoughts on “Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD)

  1. I can relate to this so much. Throughout autumn/winter, I hit the biggest lowpoint I’ve ever felt. I didn’t feel like doing anything I used to love, nothing could get me out of this stage of just feeling so sad and having no energy all the time. Like you, I blamed it on other things like the fact school was stressful in the build up to exams and some of my friends were going through dark times which mad me sad because I couldn’t help them etc but as soon as I read thus post, it sort of clicked that maybe I was suffering from Seasonal Affective Disorder. It’s true that over the spring and summer months my mental health has definitely improved. But now autumm has arrived I can feel myself on the edge of slipping back into the rut I got stuck in last autumn and winter. I’m not sure what, if anything, can be done to help with SAD but I’ll do some research and let you know if I find anything. I hope you start to feel back to normal when winter’s over. 🙂 ♥

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t know how much there is that we can do, but I’m glad I could help you work out what it might be! I’m so ready for spring weather to start improving. I’ll do some research too, and good luck for the next few months ♥

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you ♥ it’s good to know that I’m not the only one. I did some research aand apparently it’s partly because of the shorter days, meaning we are exposed to less sunlight which stops some sort of hormon doing something and idk basically makes our bodies want to hibernate. But they recommend spending as much time in natural sunlight as possible and doing exercise. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

