Posted in Discussions, Posts

Trying To Find A Clique

After watching Emma Popcorn and Alex Rose talks about feeling left out of YouTube squads, I felt inspired to talk about it myself. Trying to have any sort of online presence is hard, whether it’s on YouTube, through a blog, Instagram, wherever you’re trying to build up your person. The number one tip more experienced people will give you is to make friends – they’ll help you build up your blog, they’re great! That’s so much easier said than done, though. 

I was so so lucky with my group of blogger friends. One of us just made a group, and added a whole bunch of random people. We were forced together, and we were all as awkward as each other. Now, a day doesn’t go past that we aren’t chatting to each other, and we’re constantly telling each other all the good, bad, and the ugly things that happen in our lives. A lot of the girls (yes, we’re all girls) have friends outside of the Blog Squad, but I’m not one of them. They’re the more confident ones, who are more than happy to go and talk to random people. I DON’T KNOW HOW TO TALK TO RANDOM PEOPLE. People are scary, even if there’s a block option for the rude ones. 

This is the loveliness that is the Squad ❤

I start up a lot of conversations with people who comment on my posts, and I do love those chats. They never go further than that, though. Once the topic of the post has been talked about, that’s in, we don’t talk again until the next exciting post. I don’t know if this is my awkwardness, their awkwardness, or just the blogging world in general. Maybe WordPress needs a private chat function, so we can talk there? Maybe we need to move to other social media? Someone tell me what I can do, please! 

How do you start up that conversation, anyway? “Hey, please be my friend?” That sounds so needy, and it’s so not something I would do. It’s probably the best way, but I’ll overthink something like that until I’m convinced they’ll hate me. This is a terrible idea, by the way. Definitely try not overthinking things… I try to let these things happen naturally, but so far, only the Squad has made something like that happen. There are people I love to visit, but not people I’d be happy to meet up with. Then there are already formed groups, and I have no idea how I could even begin to think becoming part of those. Not only are they scary people, they have that intimidating pack thing. You can’t get into a pack, that’s the point! Stess Gif.gif

If you do have a pack, please let me in on your secret powers. Or hey, talk to me, I promise I’m not scary! Incredibly awkward, but not scary (at least, I try not to be). We can stalk each other’s social media, awkwardly compliment each other, feel intimidated by friendship… It’ll be great! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

13 thoughts on “Trying To Find A Clique

  1. I’d love to be a part of a pack, but I don’t know where to start! I do as you, start a lot of conversations in the comments but they don’t come any longer than that. It’s really frustrating when you want to make friends but you don’t know how :/

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I was actually just talking about that with someone else, and we were saying how whenever we plan things, once the thing has happened the conversation drops off. I’m even awkward then!

        Like

  2. I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO TALK TO PEOPLE EITHER HELP ME TOO PLS. For ageeeeees the only people I talked to on Twitter was The Blog Squad, but gradually I ended up talking to other people, mainly if I needed to ask them something or was organising swap boxes or guest posts etc. But then after we’d finished discussing that, the conversation would awkwardly stop…Approaching people online IS hard! I mostly get talking to people by replying to their tweets, but even so wouldn’t be confident enough to actually message them. And joining a pack is hard but not impossible! When I joined The Blog Squad, I think it had been already around for quite a while (not sure exactly when it was created) and for ages I didn’t feel as if I fitted in as you guys all knew eachother already (and ngl I did find you guys quite intimidating as a pack – I think some of the first people I followed on Twitter were Elm, Sherina and Caitlin and whenever they tweeted about The Blog Squad I did feel a bit intimated and confused until I joined). But I figured if I just kept talking and joining in with conversations EVENTUALLY I’d feel like part of the Squad!! Although joining a pack in real life is much harder though – like at college I’ve made a few friends but outside of class they have their own packs and it’s kind of intimidating, like I feel like I can’t approach them when they are with their friends!? Making friends is tough! Let me know if you figure out an easier way to do it lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I’ve planned some blog things and it all trails off after that! We’re so lucky to have the Squad being so nice. Even if they definitely can be intimidating 😛 People in real life are even scarier, but at least you can sit down next to them and a conversation will naturally start. Following people online doesn’t have the same effect

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great topic and you are so lucky to have found the group, it sounds really good. I am a bit awkward even with the anonymity of blogosphere. I want to make friends but sometimes, I don’t even know what to say when people post comments on my post. Then coming from a different culture than most people, I fear offending people or writing the wrong English. I am trying though.Thanks for the post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know what you mean, I get incredibly awkward! I don’t think anyone would criticise you for not doing well with your second language, but I can definitely understand why you would worry about that. Good luck 🙂

      Like

  4. I find this problem a lot in the blogosphere. Lately, I’ve been feeling like I’m like the people I find on Twitter and out in the blog world, but I struck up a conversation with an old friend and introduced music I like to her. It’s still a bit awkward, but I’m been having a lot more fun since then. I get what you mean by sounding needy, and I know it can suck sometimes. At least you have your squad! It’s always great to have good people to come back to.

    – Eli @ The Silver Words
    #commenting365

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

