Posted in Posts, Wrap Ups

July/August Wrap-Up

No, I didn’t do a wrap up for July. Oops. It’s here now, okay? 

Reading Reading in a Bookshop

In July I read a total of 8 books, and in August I read 6 and a half. Guys, this is really great for me! Screw you reading slump, I’ve finally bested you! It’s taken a very long time, but I’m finally reading non-stop again. Hooray! 

Here’s what I read in July (with links to my reviews); Winner’s Curse, Winner’s Crime, My Heart and Other Black Holes, Lake Surrender, Breathing On Her Own, Saint Anything (not reviewed), Delirium (not reviewed), and Atonement. The highlights were definitely the two Winner’s books, I am so in love with that series!

In August I read Code Name Verity, the Winner’s Kiss, and these three unreviewed books; Life of Pi, City of Heavenly Fire, and Court of Thorns and Roses. My half was Storm of Swords, a 1000 page book that made me go a little bit insane reading it too much. My two series finishers were definitely the highlight this month – I hate moving out of a world I’ve fallen in love with, but they both did so well wrapping up the stories

ChallengesShatter Me Quote #2

You might remember at the beginning of the year when I signed up for way too many challengesHere’s how I did this month; 

The E-Book Challenge. I had 13/20 complete by the end of June, and over July I read Lake Surrender and Breathing On Her Own to fit that challenge. I’ve been reading a lot of library books, so I didn’t do super well! 15/20 though, I’m very close

The Flights of Fantasy Challenge I was up to 15/20 complete in June, and these last two months have been amazing in terms of fantasy. A whole trilogy, plus City of Heavenly Fire and Court of Thorns and Roses. Which equals 5 books, which means… Yep, I’ve completed the challenge! YAY ME!! I think I deserve a prize

Rock My TBR  24/35 complete in June. I did quite well in July; both my e-books, My Heart, and Atonement. Only Life of Pi in August, but still yay! That gets me up to 28/35, which is really impressive! 

Finishing the Series has had none complete so far. This month, though, I finished two series! One of them I read entirely in the last two months, and the Mortal Instruments was just one book I’ve been meaning to read for a while. My original goal was 3, but I think I was counting full series. Hopefully I can surpass that! 

Finally, the Popsugar challenge, which I’d read 24/50 for last month. This month, I’m up to 27 /50. Yay, over halfway! I read;

NY Times Bestseller – Life of Pi, for 22 weeks

Recommended by someone you just met (well, known a little while) – Atonement, recommended by my teacher! 

Book and it’s prequel – Winner’s Curse, #1 and #2

 

Popsugar 2016

My Posts

I only missed two days in July, giving me 29 posts. Are we incredibly impressed?? Because I am, that’s amazing! In August, I dropped a lot, posting 17 times. I had a bit of mental breakdown halfway through the month, and it left me wanting to ignore my blog for weeks at a time… Oops. Some of my personal highlights include Potterhead July, and my weekly guest posts

The Months In General

I’ve had a really great last two months, actually! I got a job, and I reached crazy numbers of 500 followers, 500 posts, and 2 years of Addelepates and Book Nerds! My friends went on great holidays to America and Spain, so I’m overly jealous of them. Right now, I’m going a bit insane from boredom, but we’re on the way to fixing that… I may be going insane, but oh well? I’ve also seen a lot of movies, including Suicide Squad, and Sing Street. One of the most exciting things I’ve done is the Finding Our Feet project, a really great YouTube project I highly recommend you check out! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “July/August Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

