Posted in Blog Tours, Posts

Breathing On Her Own Blog Tour

Thanks to Electively Paige for letting me be on the tour for Breathing on Her Own by Rebecca Waters! You can follow the tour along on Twitter (#BreathingonHerOwnTour) to hear more thoughts about the book. 

Breathing on Her Own

Buy on Amazon|B&N

Molly Tipton and her husband are looking forward to retirement, but Molly s life suddenly spirals out of control when her oldest daughter is involved in a terrible accident. An icy road and a sharp turn leave one woman dead, another clinging to life.

While two families grieve, details emerge that reveal Molly s daughter was driving under the influence. As she prepares her daughter for the prospect of a vehicular homicide lawsuit, Molly discovers her oldest child is not the only one injured and forced to deal with past mistakes.

If it s true that time heals all wounds, what are we to do with our scars?

Giveaway:

Breathing on Her Own Giveaway

Breathing on Her Own Tour Banner

My Thoughts: 

This book was… Interesting. I don’t think I loved it, but I don’t think I hated it. Am I going to go and recommend it to everyone I’ve ever met? Honestly, no. I’m not going to deter you from picking this one up though!

This was a book with a focus on religion, and not exactly in a good way. There was nothing too pushy about Molly and her religion, but the way she judged her daughter Laney for it was very frustrating. I know, I shouldn’t criticise a religious book for having too much religion! It just bothered me how judgmental she was, about basically everything Laney did. Yes, she made some mistakes, but was it really all because she stopped following God? Hmm, maybe not.

I did really like the relationship between the characters though. Laney, understandably, had a lot of emotions and a lot to deal with after her car accident. She was hurting, a lot, and Molly tried her best to help get her through it. She had an amazing support system from her family and friends, which I hope she really appreciated. I really loved seeing her grow closer and closer to Molly, and seeing how Molly learned to deal with the way they had grown apart. The second sister, too, was really sweet and someone that Laney really needed. It was the characters that kept me interested in this book, because they were so real and I had to know how they were going to deal with each new, scary situation as it arose.

I wouldn’t say this book was outstanding, it was definitely full of flaws. However, it was still something I wanted to carry on reading, and I did enjoy it in the end!

About Rebecca:

P18-96f09

Website|Blog|Facebook|Twitter

Rebecca Waters has published several freelance articles including two stories in the popular Chicken Soup for the Soul books, Standard Publishing’s Lookout Magazine, The Christian Communicator, Church Libraries, and Home Health Aide Digest. Breathing on Her Own is Rebecca’s first novel. As a published author, she shares her writing journey in her weekly blog, A Novel Creation. To learn more about Rebecca or to read A Novel Creation, visit her website at www.WatersWords.com

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

5 thoughts on “Breathing On Her Own Blog Tour

  1. Hey there!

    I wanted you to know that I really have enjoyed reading your blog; I’ve been following it for a while and I think you have high quality reviews and have fun, engaging posts! I nominated your blog for the Sunshine Blogger Awards so others can see how inspiring your blog is! Normally I don’t like these chain sorts of things, but I like how this one brings so much positivity to the blogging world so I decided to do it. You can check out the details here: https://mytablesofcontent.wordpress.com/2016/07/30/the-sunshine-blogger-awards/

    Thank you again for writing such an awesome book blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

