Posted in Posts, Tags

New York Times By The Book Tag

I found this tag over on Poppy’s Best of Books, and it looked like so much fun! So, even though I wasn’t officially tagged, here are my answers. New York Times By The Book.jpg

What book is on your nightstand right now? My nightstand is way too much of a mess to actually hold any books… Next to my bed on the floor, though, is Atonement by Ian McEwan, which I was meant to read for school but haven’t. Once I’ve finished that, I’ll get back into Code Name Verity

What was the last truly great book you read? The Winner’s Curse! I gave it five stars, and I genuinely adored every second of it. Now my friend needs to hurry up and finish book 3 so I can “borrow” it and finish the series…Winner's Curse 1

If you could meet one author (living or dead) who would it be? What would you ask? J.K. Rowling of course! Not only would I want writing tips, I’d also make myself a long list of Harry Potter related questions for her to answer, so I would know everything

 What books might we be surprised to see on your shelf? My shelf is such a higgedly piggedly mess of all different types of books, you might not be surprised by anything. There’s my collection of historical fiction (mostly around WW2), there’s romance and chick lit, there’s fantasy, there’s non fiction (admittedly not much). Gone Girl sits right next to Beautiful Creatures, it’s honestly chaos

How do you organise your personal library? One is by colour, and I’m honestly really proud of that. The other two are I think in alphabetical order by series or author, but when the collections keep growing it’s a bit muddled by now. I did a great bookshelf organisation a while ago, and it’s stayed pretty well! 

Exploring My Bookshelves 2016
I’m too lazy to edit this or take some nicer photos, sorry!

What book have you always meant to read but haven’t gotten round to yet? So many! Next month I’m finally going to finish the Mortal Instruments series, I’ve had one book to go for way too long now. There are also a couple of Marian Keyes books I’m yet to read, and considering how much I adore her, that’s just not good enough. 

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you were supposed to like but didn’t? Anna and the French Kiss seemed like exactly my type of book, but my hate for Anna meant I couldn’t enjoy it at all. She’s honestly such an idiot… Illuminae is very overrated too – I get why people liked it, but it just wasn’t for me!

What kind of stories are you drawn to? I’m a sucker for a lot of hype, so that does attract me to books quite often. A good cover and a catchy blurb are great too, of course, but that’s mostly if I’m physically browsing, which I feel like I don’t do too often with a TBR that’s so long

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be? Being that I don’t know much (if anything) about American politics, I’m going to say I’d make Donald Trump read something like the Winner’s Curse. A dystopian book where the ‘building a wall’ or separating people by race thing really didn’t work out so well… Maybe he’ll get the hint?

What do you plan to read next? After Code Name Verity, I’m going to try and read something that I own. Maybe Never Never? I’m starting Storm of Swords (because Game of Thrones withdrawl) on the 1st though, so that one if I don’t have time for another book in between

So, there are my answers for this tag! Since I wasn’t officially tagged, I won’t tag anyone else, but if you’re looking for exciting things to post, then feel free to do this! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “New York Times By The Book Tag

  1. I read Anna and the French Kiss in late middle/early high school and loved it, but I have a feeling that if I read it now I would feel otherwise. Anna would probably annoy me to no end!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

