Posted in Guest Posts, Posts

My Love of Languages – Zin (Guest Post)

Hello everyone! First of all, I would like to thank Victoria for giving me the chance of appearing on her blog, it’s very much appreciated.

My name is Zineb and I blog at Books ‘N’ Blabber, I often refer to my blog as “my sanctuary,” because it is!  

Don’t you find it fascinating that you are able to write and speak in a language so fluently? I always do. I always loved the sound of languages that are foreign to my ears, I would often find myself wanting to listen to them, even if I understand nothing.  That led me to wanting to learn two languages whose sounds I love the most: French and German. I can honestly say that I made progress in French, but don’t ask me about German, ha-ha! What languages do you speak? Are you learning any at the moment?

My love for languages also raised many questions that I found very interesting. The most interesting one of them being: When did humans begin to converse with one another? And in what forms? Unfortunately, researchers haven’t been able to figure out a precise period of time, but then that’s when the estimations always come up! Estimations vary between 2,000,000 to 20,000 years ago. I find these estimations quite confusing since from what I know, humans are believed to have inhabited the Earth about 200,000 years ago. So at this point it’s either I have my facts wrong, or I can’t make sense of things! (Does that tell you anything about how numbers and I don’t get along?) But if humans really did inhabit the Earth 200,000 years ago, then I’m going to lean on about 40,000 years ago of having started communicating. (Oh my God, look at me making up my own theories. I’m going to be smacked with an archive book if an archeologist hears of this, but honestly though, this is so interesting that I simply have to talk about it, wrong facts or not!)

About the second part of my question, I’m going to let my imagination run wild here. I wasn’t able to find much about that when it comes to speaking, although so much can be found on the different forms of writing throughout the history of mankind. So, the only thing that I managed to find was the theory of how it could’ve all began with us making various sounds, like those that animals make. (Here, I thought of monkeys, and I died. Do you believe in Darwin’s theory of evolution? I don’t, but it would’ve been funny to have a picture of an ape as my grand-grand-grand-grand-grand-grand-x10000-grandfather.)

At present, there are more than 7,907 languages in this world. It’s hard to believe that such a number of languages exists, but that number won’t last for long. I was shocked and upset when I found that so many languages are dying with every year that passes by, and so it makes me wonder about the world years from now. Which language(s) do you think will take over? Well, try not to count English! (Almost impossible not to)

Now after scouring the WWW for the most interesting facts about languages, these are the ones that stood out to me the most:

* There are 50,000 characters in the Chinese language. You’ll need to know about 2,000 to read a newspaper

* 231 languages are now completely extinct

* One language dies about every two weeks

* The language Ayapaneco in Mexico is in danger of dying out, because its two remaining speakers refuse to speak to each other (I wonder if they’re still alive? Because that linked post was written in 2013)

* The oldest written language was believed to be written in about 4500 BC

* There is a language in Botswana that consists of mainly 5 types of clicks

* There are 2,400 languages classified as being ‘endangered’

* Twelve fictional languages were mentioned in The Lord of The Rings, two of which were well developed: Quenya and Sindarin

* 50% of educational time in Luxembourg is devoted to learning English, German, and French

*Languages are beautiful and they’re the gateway to learning so much about the people who speak them, as well as so many cultures. We all need to show them some love! (Yes, that may be my made-up fact, but it still is a fact)

This was very fun to write and share with you guys! Thank you so much for reading, the discussion may continue down below in the comments. Bonne journée!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

3 thoughts on “My Love of Languages – Zin (Guest Post)

  1. Thanks for this post. I find languages fascinating as well especially when I notice similarities in how words are spelled and pronounced. I wish I could speak multiple languages and I often pester my friends who do so with odd questions like, which language do you dream in if words are spoken in your dream?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t mention it! Hahaha, that’s actually a very interesting question that I never gave much attention to. I’d say it’s Arabic and English for me. :]

      Like

Leave a Reply

