Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

My Heart and Other Black Holes

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution: a teen boy with the username FrozenRobot (aka Roman) who’s haunted by a family tragedy is looking for a partner.

Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together. Except that Roman may not be so easy to convince

Add it on Goodreads

My Heart And Other Black Holes

I really feel like this book doesn’t deserve all the hype and praise that it’s getting. There are so many aspects I really enjoyed, but in the end, I put this book down and didn’t feel enthusiasm to pick it back up again.

What I really loved was the way Aysel described her depression. For me, I’m very lucky to say I don’t get it at all. I can never understand what would make a person want to kill themselves, and I’m so happy that I don’t get it. This book explained it to me so well though. I still didn’t 100% get it, but seeing it all through Aysel’s eyes made me understand her perspective a whole lot more. Here’s what I do know, though – nothing about depression or suicide or any mental illness is pretty. There’s nothing exciting or romantic about it, and happily ever afters are the exception, not the norm. I felt like this book made it seem a lot nicer than it really is. By meeting Roman, her suicide partner, her life really started to improve, and by the end of it, we had a pretty happy ending. A book like this is the kind of book I pick up knowing I’m going to cry. No tears, though. Not one. Depression is a sad and scary thing, I wanted to feel pain! I don’t know what it was, but I just couldn’t get upset. I think I would have liked this better if the author hadn’t romanticised metal illness, and given us the raw pain that it actually gives you.

MHAOBH Quote.jpg
News flash – not that simple!

It was a bit to do with the characters, too. Aysel had a pretty good reason, and being inside her head, we got to know all the ins and outs of what she was thinking and why she wanted to end it. I did really like reading her story, and finding out more and more about her dad as the book went on. With Roman, though, it took a long time to connect to him. Understandably, he didn’t want to share his story straight away, but once he did he was so matter of fact about it that it didn’t make me feel for him. It was a tragic event, but there was nothing special about Roman, if that makes any sense. I felt equally as sorry for his mum, who only popped into the story briefly to guilt trip Aysel about her plan. Gotta love those sorts of completely necessary characters…

Basically, I’m disappointed. I wanted to feel all of the pain, and I felt hardly any of it. I understood Aysel, but barely understood Roman. And the ending… Ugh. Don’t talk to me about the ending!Throwing Book Out Window

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

15 thoughts on “My Heart and Other Black Holes

  1. I remember reading this novel, and I remember disliking it a lot, but I don’t really remember what went on because it wasn’t a novel worth remembering. To me it felt like it dragged on, and I agree wasn’t that good. I relate to your review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

