Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Carry On

Simon Snow is the worst chosen one who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he sets something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here—it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Add it on Goodreads here

Carry On

Rainbow Rowell, you’ve done it again. I don’t know why I’m surprised every time, but this was seriously amazing!

Baz and Simon are completely and utterly my life. Everything they do is adorable, honestly. The sexual tension was there from the start, even before we got to the point of them admitting their feelings to us. Simon was so obsessed with Baz, wanting to know where he was, where he was going, and where he was going to be at every single second of the day. He said he was worried that Baz was plotting, but come on kid, you had absolutely no one fooled. Baz was just as bad, even before we got into his head. He was doing the whole “I’m angry at my unrequited love” thing, not at all the “I’m angry because I hate you” thing he was trying to pull off. I won’t say this romance was slow, but I did feel I really deserved it by the time I got to read about it. It was a good build up to when it finally happened, although I was upset we missed some perfect opportunities for it to happen earlier! And I really appreciated that Baz didn’t instantly change for Simon, he still held a lot of his anger and lack of trust. They were both still the same characters they were at the start – with some character development, of course, but not a complete reversal of character because of love like you might expect. Baz and Simon.jpg
Let’s be honest, though, the plot isn’t that amazing. It really is Harry Potter re-written. My theory is that Baz is meant to be Malfoy, but that’s beside the point. We have Harry, Dumbledore, Voldemort (even to the point that they look the same like Tom and Harry), Hermione, and various supporting characters. They were all really great characters, but a lot of the things they did were really unoriginal. The plot was fairly similar too. However, the magic was a lot different, and I loved it! The spells were one of my favourite aspects of the entire book – every spell was a phrase or word that was taken very literally to cast a spell. There were song lyrics, popular sayings, etc. It was really cleverly done. I liked that Simon was “the worst Chosen One to ever be chosen,” it made it much more interesting knowing that he was far from perfect and could barely cast a spell to save his life.

All in all, I still love Rowell. I love every single thing she’s written, and this is no exception!

Four Stars

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

14 thoughts on “Carry On

  1. I am going to admit here that I am 100% Carry On trash, and I have been for…a VERY long time. Yeah. I fell in love with the World of Mages whilst reading Fangirl, so I was rather predestined to enjoy this!
    But I definitely understand that it’s too close to Harry Potter for some people. (Because…well. IT HAS A LOT OF SIMILARITIES.) Baz is sort of the Malfoy counterpart, I think, but I also felt he was probably the most different character from HP out of them all. *nods*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YAY I’M SO HAPPY YOU LOVED IT. I really need to reread this. I LOVED IT SO MUCH. Like I was actually high on feels while reading this and once I finished it lol. I WAS TOO EXCITED TO SLEEP BECAUSE SNOWBAZ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

