Posted in Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Posts

Camp Surrender; A Blog Tour

Lake Surrender Tour Banner

Welcome to my stop for Carol Grace Stratton’s novel Lake Surrender! Each day of the tour, be sure to follow #LakeSurrenderTour to see the new stops. I finished the book today, because I’m unorganised, and here’s what I thought…

Buy on Amazon

Add to Your Goodreads TBR

Quicker than you can say “downsized, unemployed, and divorced,” Ally Cervantes finds herself with the Pacific Ocean in her rearview mirror as she and her two children head to Lake Surrender in rural Northern Michigan to live with her aunt. The dry hills of California are a metaphor for her empty soul, but she can’t afford to wallow in self-pity with an autistic son who can’t make eye contact and a precocious twelve-year-old daughter counting on her to get it together.

With no other available jobs, Ally steps through the only open door for employment, working as head cook at a dilapidated Christian camp. Problem is, she doesn’t cook and doesn’t like religious fanatics.

But despite everything, she finds herself strangely hopeful as she learns her journey ends where the lake begins.

Lake Surrender

My (Honest) Thoughts On The Book

I really enjoyed this book, despite it being a bit predictable. When Ally meets a man in a religious camp, I feel like you can see where it’s going. It’s a love story we’ve read a hundred times. But the camp setting, the divorce, and her son with autism all made this story unique. 

Benjie was probably my most favourite aspect of the story. He’s a kid with autism, and a lot of Ally’s story centres around him. I volunteer with similar kids at school, and it’s really interesting to see how a kid like him is portrayed in a book. I think they did a pretty good job, and I really appreciate that! Yes, maybe his ending was a bit sugar coated, but the rest of his story was real and painful, and I think that’s important. He wasn’t a major part of the story, but he was there, so yay! Benjie was the reason Ally got her job at camp, and part of the reason she was divorced in the first place, so he was important to starting her whole story off. He was also adorable, which is a plus. 

The religion thing was very well done too. It wasn’t shoved in our faces, I didn’t feel, but it was clear it was important to Ally and the rest of the people at camp. Yes, it helped her in the end to forgive etc, but it wasn’t vital to her story. She made a lot of choices on her own, and found happiness on her own or with other people, without putting everything down to Lake Surrender 1 (3)God. I like a religious story that isn’t condemning me for not being religious, and they’re all too rare, so I appreciated that. 

The thing that kind of let it down for me was the romance. It was predictable, like I said before. I saw it coming from the beginning. However, I didn’t expect it to happen in the exact way it did, and it was a very long time coming. The ending had me awwwwing so much! Will was a sweetheart, and him and Ally really needed each other. It was done a little slowly for my taste, and it was definitely something I saw coming from the beginning. It was sweet, I just wish it had been done a little better. A faster romance might have kept me more hooked on the story too, instead of me finding my attention wandering a bit during the book. 

I also wish the camp aspect had been explored a little more. It was there, and her job was important to her, but it could have been talked about in a bit more depth. I like a good camp story, and this could have made the book even better. Or, it could have been less important to making her become the person she was by the end. The religion that happened at camp was more important, and while that isn’t a bad thing, I feel like a book that talks about camp so much should have more camp stories. And maybe the drama could have had me more worried – although it did keep the story interesting! 

Overall, I’m really happy with this book! It was sweet, and it was different. 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

5 thoughts on “Camp Surrender; A Blog Tour

  1. Hmmm, this looks interesting! Is it categorised as religious fiction? I tend to stay away from anything religion-related because I think some of them come across as very preachy and in-your-face, so I’m glad you didn’t find this one to be so. More focus on the camp scenario would be great too – that’s always fun. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you ladies for your comments. You are so right. A story needs to be a good story, first, and foremost. I tried to weave a message about God’s presence in our lives in a natural way. I, too, hate to be preached at when reading! I appreciate being on Addlepates and book Nerds.

    It’s especially thrilling to be on this blog because I love New Zealand and spent several months in school in Auckland at Capenwray. Lovely people and a gorgeous country!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

