Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The Winner’s Curse

Winning what you want may cost you everything you love… 

As a general’s daughter in a vast empire that revels in war and enslaves those it conquers, seventeen-year-old Kestrel has two choices: she can join the military or get married. But Kestrel has other intentions.

One day, she is startled to find a kindred spirit in a young slave up for auction. Arin’s eyes seem to defy everything and everyone. Following her instinct, Kestrel buys him—with unexpected consequences. It’s not long before she has to hide her growing love for Arin.

But he, too, has a secret, and Kestrel quickly learns that the price she paid for a fellow human is much higher than she ever could have imagined.

Winner's Curse 1.JPG
Photo from my Instagram

This. Book. I was told it was good, but I try never to believe the hype too much. In this case, though, the hype was right. This book is amazing!

The thing I really loved was that the character’s were flawed. Not just a little imperfect, like terribly flawed. Kestrel is the daughter of a general, and being the daughter of someone who has taken over different territories, she’s grown up pretty racist towards the Herrani. She doesn’t really see a problem with using them all as slaves, because she knows that the Valorian’s were the better people and won them in battle. She gets angry when they step out of line, and she knows that loving Arin would be the worst thing ever, although you could put that blame on her father. It’s a really fresh take of the usual slave story we get, where everyone is racist except for our perfect protagonist. And it made her story so much more interesting. Arin is in the same situation, although with a little more reason. He’s ready to fight back, and he has no qualms in telling everyone Kestrel’s secrets. You think you know how this story is going to go, but there’s no 360 of Arin’s personality as he learns to love the people who have kept his people captive for so long. He wants to fight for the Herrani, and dammit he will! Connor Franta OMG
Part of this is to do with the society they’re part of. Like I said, the Herrani are spoils of war, and that really isn’t a problem to any of the Valorian. There are little rules that piece together to get yo really immersed in the world, like the fact that you either have to join the military or get married and start producing soldier babies by a certain age. Yes, this is an actual law! It’s not a huge thing in this book, it’s just something that’s floating around that helps you work out exactly what kind of people the Valorian are. The world building is spectacular!

The plot has the perfect mixture of love and action. Arin and Kestrel were obviously going to fall in love from page one, and their opposite cultures makes them the best kind of star crossed lovers. If that’s not your thing, though, don’t worry! There’s enough drama going on to keep your mind off it. The love causes a stir among the rest of society, and that gives Kestrel a lot of stuff to deal with. Then there’s Arin and the massive secret he’s keeping, which we’re privy to a lot sooner than Kestrel is. There’s the looming threat of more war, especially with her father being the general. I honestly couldn’t put the book down in the last bit, because there was so much going on!

In case you couldn’t tell, I really recommend this book. It’s absolutely amazing! And, shockingly, worth five stars for me.

Five Stars

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

6 thoughts on “The Winner’s Curse

  1. Yay, I’m glad you liked this! It’s not my FAVOURITE series ever, but it was definitely a fun read. *nods* I love a bit of politics/girls who are feminine but also badass/not necessarily fighting but also conflict in fantasy books. (That was a long string, wow.) Also, the writing is lovely. I hope you enjoy the rest of the series if you read it! ARGH I still need to get my hands on the last book, whoops.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I still need to read this book. It is patiently waiting for me in the shelf! I definitely hope to pick it up next! Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

