Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

A Work In Progress

In this intimate memoir of life beyond the camera, Connor Franta shares the lessons he has learned on his journey from small-town boy to Internet sensation so far.

Here, Connor offers a look at his Midwestern upbringing as one of four children in the home and one of five in the classroom; his struggles with identity, body image, and sexuality in his teen years; and his decision to finally pursue his creative and artistic passions in his early twenties, setting up his thrilling career as a YouTube personality, philanthropist, entrepreneur, and tastemaker.

Exploring his past with insight and humor, his present with humility, and his future with hope, Connor reveals his private struggles while providing heartfelt words of wisdom for young adults. His words will resonate with anyone coming of age in the digital era, but at the core is a timeless message for people of all ages: don’t be afraid to be yourself and to go after what you truly want.

Work In Progress

Ahh, Connor my love! Yet again, you’ve done something wonderful, and man oh man do I adore you for it.

To be honest, this book wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for. That’s not to say it wasn’t good, it just wasn’t what I was expecting, you know? I expected a lot of life stories, which were definitely there. But I expected to know all the ins and outs of his life growing up, the struggles he went through, his relationships with friends, family, and partners, his life as a YouTuber, good and bad. I wanted to know not only what he loved, but what he hated. What we got instead of that was a whole lot of advice, based off snippets off his life. Like I said, this is still good, but it wasn’t what I’d got myself ready to read. I don’t feel like I know Connor way better now.

The advice he gave was in perfect Connor style. Written very poetically, with things that you don’t even think about until he points them out to you. Then he really makes you think, until you’re staring out the window of your car freaking out because your life is LITERALLY JUST GOING PAST YOUR EYES.
Too specific? Oops.
You know what I mean though. He has the solution to every problem, and he gives actually good advice. It never involves telling you what to do, he’s about thinking for yourself and finding whatever makes you happiest. I love that he seems genuinely invested in our lives, and he truly does want us to be the happiest we can be. Thanks, Con.
Connor Franta OMG
The stories we did get all had a message behind them. Connor lived a pretty happy life, and he can tell you where he went wrong and how he’d change it if he could. He tells you where he went right, because obviously he’s happy with where he is right now, and he tells you how to do the same. He speaks to the artsy types, which as a writer I am, and I finished this book feeling so inspired to get up and do something with my life. Did I? Well, no, not exactly. But I will! Just you wait Connor, I will!

Like most of these YouTuber books, I really recommend it to people who already watch the YouTuber. However, I also recommend you go and watch his videos, because a lot of them aren’t your typical vlogger videos, he makes some gorgeous artsy stuff too. Go on, go!

Side note: I listened to this as an audio book, and I think I would recommend reading the physical copy. Apparently it’s full of pictures, and Connor sounded kind of awkward through the narration! 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “A Work In Progress

  1. the thing I loved most about this book was the photos and all the other things that had been added in. I agree with you this book was mostly just stories and advice, I thought this was a good thing for me personally as I’m not a huge fan of autobiographies and this didn’t feel like someone telling me about their life, it felt like someone giving me life lessons. I was expecting more from this book but it was good.
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

