Posted in Discussions, Posts

I’ve Barely Been Reading…

And I don’t know why! I seem to be in the worst reading slump, but it doesn’t seem to have been caused by anything in particular. Sure, school has been pretty hectic at the moment. I have three assessments due very very soon, plus an essay (the grade doesn’t matter for that), so yeah, I’ve been busy. I have one paper that’s due Friday, and it’s seven pages as of the time I’m writing this post. All my classes have been giving me school time for my work though, so it’s not like my every waking moment is being consumed by school. 

My other theory was that it was the book I’m reading at the moment. My scholarship English class has asked that we read Lolita, which, if you don’t know, is a ‘love story’ between a 30-40 year old man and a 12 year old girl. Are you surprised I don’t want to keep picking this up? It’s written absolutely beautifully, but he’s also a paedophilic rapist creep, and no writing can ever be good enough for me to not want to throw up every time I read about Humbert Humbert. I’ve finished now, but only really because I need to have it read by my next scholarship class. I hate it, and I know I shouldn’t be reading anything else until I’ve finished it, and then worked out how the heck I’m going to review it… I’m trying to get a review up soon, but we’ll see. Life Gif

Oh, and did I mention I’m making a short film? Yeah, that adds to the school work load… It has to be max 8 minutes, and this means we’ve been filming as many days as we possibly can, and editing all the time. And we’re still not even close to being done… Nearly finished filming though, so yay, and hopefully that’ll give me a lot more free time!

Consequently (admire my history words), I haven’t been blogging as much as I want to be. It’s hard to run a book blog when you haven’t been doing anything book related. I feel like I probably post way too much anyway (I try to post once a day), but still, I like to challenge myself and do that! And I haven’t been for the last little while, which sucks. I’m hoping starting from now my posts are going to start coming more regularly, but ughh, it’s the worst. This post has taken me a couple of days to sit down and write because I’m just. So. Unmotivated. I’m even unmotivated to write a post about how unmotivated I am. Loki Facepalm

So, that’s what’s new with me (does that make grammatical sense?). What’s new with you?

 

 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

11 thoughts on “I’ve Barely Been Reading…

Leave a Reply

