Posted in Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Posts

All the Feels; Sunday Street Team

Synopsis (GR):

College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life… So, when her favorite character, Captain Matt Spartan, is killed off at the end of the last movie, Liv Just. Can’t. Deal.

Tired of sitting in her room sobbing, Liv decides to launch an online campaign to bring her beloved hero back to life. With the help of her best friend, Xander, actor and steampunk cosplayer extraordinaire, she creates #SpartanSurvived, a campaign to ignite the fandom. But as her online life succeeds beyond her wildest dreams, Liv is forced to balance that with the pressures of school, her mother’s disapproval, and her (mostly nonexistent and entirely traumatic) romantic life. A trip to DragonCon with Xander might be exactly what she needs to figure out what she really wants.

Add it on GoodreadsAll the Feels.jpg

A Review: 

If you loved Fangirl, you should pretty much love this. Don’t get me wrong, there’s no way it even compares to the gloriousness that is Rainbow Rowell. It’s pretty fantastic, though. 

Liv is completely and utterly me. She’s the nerdiest of nerds, whose whole live revolves around the Starveil fandom. The book starts off with a scene of her sitting in the movie theatre, tears streaming down her face at the death of her favourite character. If you don’t relate to that, put down the book. Leave this review. This gave me flashbacks to me during Harry Potter, The First Avenger, The Fault In Our Stars… The list goes on and on. And how does Liv deal with this? Well, she gets herself over involved in the fandom, of course! Again, she is me, scrolling through Tumblr until 2 in the morning, talking to her online friends, etc etc. Throughout the whole book Liv had this lovable nature about her, and was Spartan trash, and I lived for it. I just had to know what was going to happen next with her, because she is me! I care about me!

She’s supported by Xander, a cosplayer who is… interesting. To start with, I loved him. He understands that Liv is trash, and he helps her out with her fandom projects. I like that he’s unapologetically him, because being a cosplayer all the time wouldn’t be easy to do at all. He’s like Liv, in that he’s involved in his fandoms, and he has no social life because he’s obsessed. Again, very relatable. As the book went on though, I decided I wasn’t a fan. He calls everyone “darling”, to go with his ‘character’ he dresses as, and it made me feel a bit creeped out. His whole behaviour towards Liv made me feel a bit icky, and I feel like if he talked to me like that, I would be running away FAST. 

The plot overall was pretty good. The romance line was overly predictable, but I could live with that. I loved the ending at DragonCon – I won’t spoil what happened, of course, but I was pleasantly surprised about how that all ended up. I liked that Liv’s mum thought she was crazy, and I liked how that was explored. It wasn’t fast paced or anything, but it wasn’t slow either. It was exactly what I was in the mood for reading. 

So, would I recommend this? Well, here you are on a book blog, so you’re obviously fan trash for SOMETHING. So, yeah. I say go read it!

(side note; my inner fangirl came out a lot during this, and I have so many words that spellcheck is telling me doesn’t exist…)

Four Stars

About the Author:

Danika Stone is an author, artist, and educator who discovered a passion for writing fiction while in the throes of her Masters thesis. A self-declared bibliophile, Danika now writes novels for both adults (The Intaglio Series and Ctrl Z) and teens (All the Feels). When not writing, Danika can be found hiking in the Rockies, planning grand adventures, and spending far too much time online. She lives with her husband, three sons, and a houseful of imaginary characters in a windy corner of Alberta, Canada.
—-
Ms. Stone is represented by Morty Mint of Mint Literary Agency.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday Street Team

 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

10 thoughts on “All the Feels; Sunday Street Team

Leave a Reply

