Posted in Discussions, Mental Health, Posts

Why Don’t I Talk About The Bad Stuff?

Now that I’ve finally started being a good person again and reading through other blogs (helped by the #blogsquadvisit on Twitter), I’m realising a bit of a trend. Yes, we’re all there to celebrate with each other. Often, though, bloggers use their blog as a platform to get out their pain and anger. I’ve done the celebration thing countless times. I love telling you guys what I’ve achieved! The bad stuff, though, I leave off here. Why, I wonder?

I think my main reason is because this blog is a happy place. If I’ve had a terrible day, the last thing I want to do is relive it all. What I do want to do is take my mind off it, and I do that a lot of the time by coming on here and talking about something else. Whether that’s a discussion, or a book review, or a tag that I don’t have to think much about, writing blog posts is something that needs almost full concentration (with some brain power left over for music). So all my posts end up being positive, because I want to take my mind off the negative by doing something that makes me happy. I can understand that for some people, writing out all the bad stuff makes it easier to deal with. But for me, it’s something I’d like to ignore. 

Be Happy

I guess the main reason people write that sort of stuff on here is to feel that they aren’t alone. And I can completely sympathise with that – it’s horrible if you feel like you can’t talk to people in real life. I have internet friends though (shout out to you guys, Blog Squad), and I know that they’re always there for me. At least, we’re a big enough group that someone’s bound to be around to look after me… If you don’t have that support, though, I get why you’d want to go and look for it. And don’t get me wrong, I definitely do. I do it by going blog hopping, and finding amazing people and seeing the great stuff they write. Again, it’s taking my mind off things, but it’s still me talking to other people who get me, and showing them some love. The perfect combination, right?

Robot Love

However, I do still say some negative stuff. No one is always happy all the time, right? And this blog is meant to be a representation of me, or at least of a part of my life. I try to make all of the negative stuff constructive, though. I’m not going to write a controversial discussion post on that day, because I don’t want to get into a fight with you. I might rant about something though, or talk about the points of a book I didn’t enjoy. These things get out all my anger, but aren’t overly sad. Most importantly, they’re constructive. I’m telling you if you should or shouldn’t read a book, or I’m educating people about a problem, or whatever it happens to be. I don’t get angry for the sake of getting angry; I always do it for a reason. 

Criticism

In saying all that, I don’t get mad at people who do post those negative posts! Don’t get me wrong, I think blogging is a really good place to get all that stuff out. Way better than on social media, or to a person’s face (depending on the problem). For me, though, it’s not at all something I like to do. 

What about you? Do you post negative stuff about your life? Why do or don’t you do it? Let me know!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

15 thoughts on “Why Don’t I Talk About The Bad Stuff?

  1. I have, but not from a “woe is me” place. It’s more from a “this happened to me, this was the effect, here’s what you can do if you’re in a similar situation” kind of thing. Not that I think it’s bad if you want to write about negative aspects of your life (sometimes, I think that’s how people deal), I just want to help. If that makes any sense 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I usually don’t post negative stuff about my life, mostly because I feel like it’s very personal. However, I totally understand people who use blogging as a platform to get their negative feelings out there!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I do sometimes post the negative stuff because then this feels real. Like if I only post good stuff and happy stuff, it gives off the impression that I’m in a perfect place in life, which I’m not. So I just keep it real, the good stuff and the bad stuff because then I can really connect with my readers. And sometimes I see that the other people have been through some bad phase themselves and this gives them a chance to relate as well as let off their steam.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. On my old blog I used to post negative stuff thinking it would help me to let my emotions out but it never really worked and whenever I looked back at those posts I remembered all the bad stuff I wanted to forget. Now I’ve learnt that doing something constructive when your having a bad day os much better! I channel all that negative energy into writing really detailed, in depth posts – usually about politics, something I can really get into to take my mind off of stuff. It also helps to cheer you up a bit and remember that there is so much good in the world compared to the small amount of bad you’ve experienced. Great post! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That was always my problem as well! I’d post something negative, walk away from it, “get better”, then come back the next day and then see the post and get all sad again! I also do constructive things instead these days.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. I blog as a way to represent some of the happy corners of my life, and I really like that you pointed out why blogging is this way. I don’t like to be negative a) because I want to forget about it and move on, b) people come to my blog to be happy and read about books, and c) everyone realizes that sure, life is hard (that should be the dictionary definition of life, tbh) but you need to learn to move on. I think blogging is definitely something that different people feel differently about, and that it is something that represents something different for them, but to others, it’s to show that happy place that someone feels specially about.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I definitely relate to this Victoria! I’ve heard/read (read sounds so weird haha) people say that it’s a bit fake when you only ever write happy things, but I just don’t want to write so many negative posts, because just like you said I don’t want to relive it. I do write negative things (besides from negative reviews haha), but when it comes to my personal live there will only be small negative snippets and they will be very subtle, because I don’t like talking about it

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

