Posted in Exciting Events, Posts

The 40 Hour Famine

Next weekend, I’m participating in an event called the 40 Hour Famine. This might be international at different times in the year, I’m not really sure? But here’s a quick rundown for those of you who don’t know what it’s about; 40 Hour Famine.jpg

Basically, for 40 hours, you go without something. The most popular one is food, where all you’re allowed is water, juice, and barley sugars. But a lot of people do different things, like no electricity or technology, staying in a tent, no talking, etc etc. Why, you ask? So you know what it’s like to live in someone else’s shoes. There are so many people in the world who don’t have any of these things any of the time, and it’s amazing how much you recognise their struggle when you go through it yourself, even if it’s just for the weekend. Each year, World Vision help out a particular group of people, and all the people who sponsor us to do the famine help us raise money for them. 

This year, it’s a little different. Unless you live under a rock, you’ll know about the Syrian refugee crisis. These people have been rushed out of their country, and are living in camps with only the very basic necessities. So, of course, we have to help them out. They have food, though, so why go without that? Instead, we’re living out of our backpacks for 40 hours, just like the Syrians had to do when they fled their homes. This does include food, water, and warm clothes, but only as much as we can fit into a backpack! The money we raise is going to help the refugee kids get an education, and counselling to help them recover from the ordeal they’ve gone through.

Syrian Children.jpg

 

Why am I telling you this? Well, like I said, we’ve all been doing a lot of fundraising to try and help out these kids. My goal is $150 NZ, and I’ve got $80 so far just from going door to door. I’ve set up my online fundraising page, and it would be AMAZING if any of you could donate, international or not. Don’t worry if you can’t, I won’t be at all offended! Even having support while I’m mid-famine would be fantastic, through social media and all that. Or, if you can do the famine yourself, then definitely go for it! It’s for such a good cause. 

And if you’ve already done the Famine, how did it go? Did you raise a lot? Did you struggle going without for 40 whole hours? Let me know!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “The 40 Hour Famine

Leave a Reply

