Posted in Posts

Snippet Sunday (#4) – Trapped

Snippet Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by my fabulous friend Samantha from Reed’s Reads and Reviews. It works like this;

  • You share a snippet of your current work in progress or whatever else you are working on. A scene, dialogue, a whole chapter, a poem – anything goes
  • Link your Snippet Sunday back at Samantha’s, and we can watch the world burn in our amazingness together
  • Ta da! Snippet Sunday complete

Snippet Sunday

This week, I was cleaning out my desk, and I found a couple of short stories I’d written. Some of them are terrible, and were binned almost immediately. This one, though, I liked. 

Here’s a segment of what I’ve written. The story is about a girl who is trapped in a jail like room. For what, I’m not sure. Does she escape? Well, I haven’t quite decided that either… I might just share the rest of it with you guys once it’s been edited…

“The only thing I know for certain is I am not dying. I am fed, although only ever like a penned-in animal. I never have want for blankets, or cool air. It may not be fresh, but at least I can breathe it in. I am not dying. Does that mean I am living? Is this all living is?”

What have you written this week? Would you be interested to know more about my unnamed heroine? Let me know below!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

7 thoughts on “Snippet Sunday (#4) – Trapped

  1. Ooh, this is such a mysterious snippet! I particularly liked the last three sentences. *nods*
    The other day I found a story that I’d written, and I COULDN’T REMEMBER FOR THE LIFE OF ME WHAT MY PLAN FOR IT WAS. *cries* Idk, I’m pretty sure I made the protagonist into a ghost…? But I’ve been pretty terrible at working on my novel recently. Hopefully I’ll get back to it after exams haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

