Posted in Posts, Wrap Ups

May Monthly Wrap-Up

Yes, another month over! This is really exciting for all you Americans who are finishing school, but it’s just getting harder in New Zealand… I didn’t get nearly as much reading done as I wanted to this month, I only read 4 books. May

Reading

  1. Binge by Tyler Oakley, which I gave 5 stars and reviewed here. It was also my first ever audio book, something I talked about over here
  2. Simon vs The Homo Sapien Agenda by Becky Albertalli, which I gave 4 stars and reviewed here
  3. The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa, which I really struggled through. I gave it 2 stars, and haven’t yet brought myself to review
  4. Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews, which I gave a very conflicting three stars to. I still need to review this one as well, because I was so confused about how I felt about it
  5. The book I’m reading at the moment is Magyk by Angie Sage, a book from my childhood that I loved

My TBR

You might remember at the beginning of the year when I signed up for way too many challengesHere’s how I did this month; 

The E-Book Challenge. I put my challenge up to 20 in April, and had 12/20 complete. Unfortunately, I didn’t read any e books this month

The Flights of Fantasy Challenge I had 12/20 complete in April, and this month only The Immortal Rules counted. So I’m up to 13/20

Rock My TBR  24/35 complete in April. This month none! I did own Binge, but I got it this year, so it doesn’t really count

Finishing the Series has had none complete so far. This month all I managed to do was start yet another series… 

Finally, the Popsugar challenge… I had 18/50 completed in April. 

Popsugar 2016

3 of the 4 books I read counted, which is great! I used Binge for an autobiography, Immortal Rules for a library book, and Me and Earl and the Dying Girl as satirical. Do you think that last one counts?

PostingPosts

I posted a total of 26 times this month, which is AMAZING compared to other months. I like to try and post every day, but that’s often impossible. This month I almost did though! I also tried a whole bunch of different posts; way more discussions than usual, a movie review, a new writing meme called Snippet Sunday, and a little guide to Terrasen. Oh, and of course lots of tags and Exploring My Bookshelves, as usual. Some of these should be coming more in the next month – others will be disappearing, don’t worry 😛

I posted four times on my YouTube channel too! Again, I tried some new things, some of which I loved, and some of which didn’t seem to be so popular. Hopefully my videos are going to get even better over the next month!Subscribe

Other Life Stuff

This month was my birthday, and I turned 18! I went out for dinner twice, once with my family and once with my friends, and got loads of cool stuff (some of which should be going on my Instagram sometime soon). Thanks to everyone who gave my lovely birthday wishes!We Can Have Cake

I did some training to become a Brownie leader, which is great. Even though I’ve been volunteering for almost two years, I’m not an official leader yet. By the end of August I will be though, and I’m so excited! 

School seems to be a lot harder this term than last term, and everyone is very stressy. This also means everyone is a little grumpy, which makes me grumpy, and it’s just not a fun time. Maybe that’s why I’ve been wanting to post so much…

The End!

All that usual stuff – thanks for loving my posts, thanks for loving me, etc. May next month be even greater, and hopefully with some more reading getting done! Link me to all your wrap ups, I’d love to know what you got up to during May

tumblr_n5nhmj3Uo81sfhqi5o7_400

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

16 thoughts on “May Monthly Wrap-Up

  1. OMG WHAT A PRODUCTIVE MONTH FOR YOU! Sorry, not shouting! 😁 Just really jealous of those 26 posts you did all during this month! WOW. ☺️ And great job tracking all the reading challenges!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had mixed feelings about Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl when I finished it, too. It was funny in a weird way, but I wished it had focused more on the “Dying Girl” part of the title. It just seemed like it was the main character rambling on the whole time. Anyways, happy June! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oh trust me I just finished mid year’s but I read 3 and a bit books this month ( which I believe is impressive because I was expecting to read a lot less )
    you’ve done well though considering we’re only half way through the school year
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

  4. WHAT AN AMAZING MONTH. Even though the reading was a bit down. BUT ANYWAYS. I have heard so much good stuff about the lemon called Becky Albertalli. I heard so much gushing about Simon Vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, but I read the Goodreads blurb and I thought it seemed somewhat ordinary. So I don’t know whether I should go for it, you know?!

    BUT STILL ANYWAY YOU POSTED 26 TIMES??! Excuse me?! That is so amazing for you! I hardly post that much, I can in no way keep up with it. At most, I’ll post 15 posts a month. Usually it’ll be 11-13 posts, but usually not much more. Ha, how do you keep up with it? That’s super incredible and I’m definitely surprised.

    18 18 18181818181818181818! OMIGOSHHHH. You are an official adult. How wonderful. Do great things. Make a change in the world. XD XD ha ha. I know you get an official driver’s license when you’re 18 when in US, but I’m not sure if it’s the case in New Zealand. Did you get your driver’s license? Driving for the first time is always pretty cool.

    ANYWAY, YOU HAD A LOVELY MONTH DARLING. ❤ ❤ 🙂

    So much love,
    Veda ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. THANK YOU! I think it’s good for a romantic contemporary thing, but if that isn’t what you’d usually read then don’t go for this one 🙂
      I honestly don’t know how I did it!! I schedule everything, and that helps a lot, but still! I think I spent too much time blogging, not enough time reading 😛
      Yep, I’m a grown up!! I got my licence around 6 months ago, even though the age is 16 in NZ. I’ve been learning how to drive since then, but haven’t got my proper licence yet 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before and PS I Still Love you are romantic contemporary and I loved those. But I still don’t know if those two wrap around the same-ness of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda. I’m sure I’ll read it, though. I would schedule, but I’m a professional procrastinator when I don’t want to do something, I’m lazy after the day, and I’m always super bad at following schedules. It reminds of school when they would have bells for everything 😂😂 I need a bell to remind me to follow my blogging schedule everyday 😋! So you still have a license. I hope learning to drive was fun for you! 😍😘😘

        ❤️ Veda ☺️

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Woooo! Sounds like you had a great productive month, Victoria! So happy for you ❤ I on the other hand didn't post much and I'm still trying to rest now that I'm finally done with my exams. I spend most of my time deciding on whether to read, write or blog than actually doing anything! Also, I read Me and Earl and he Dying Girl, by Jesse Andrews last year and I rated it 2 out of 5 stars. Wasn't a fan of it really. Here's my review of it if you're interested :]
    https://booksandfeathers.wordpress.com/?s=Me+and+Earl+and+the+dying+girl

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

