Posted in Memes, Posts

Snippet Sunday (#3) – Poetry

Snippet Sunday is a weekly meme hosted by my fabulous friend Samantha from Reed’s Reads and Reviews. It works like this;

  • You share a snippet of your current work in progress or whatever else you are working on. A scene, dialogue, a whole chapter, a poem – anything goes
  • Link your Snippet Sunday back at Samantha’s, and we can watch the world burn in our amazingness together
  • Ta da! Snippet Sunday complete

Snippet Sunday

 

The challenge we were given by our teacher’s one English class was to write a poem based off the William Wordsworth Lucy poems. We were given all the words, and rearranged them however we wanted to. Let’s just keep in mind that I don’t write poetry. Ever. But I’m pretty proud of how this strange challenge turned out!

Lucy lived among the violets,

Hidden by the mossy stones. 

The sky was her eyes, 

The stars gave her praise.

Lucy dwelt among the violets, 

Hidden by untrodden stones. 

The sky was her grave, 

The stars ceased to shine. 

Lucy loved beside the stones, 

Half-hidden by the violets. 

Unknown to all but the sky, 

Lucy ceased to shine”

So, there’s my poem! Thoughts? Have I found my secret calling as a poet? And what did you write this week? And, if you were interested, here’s the original it was based off;

Lucy Poem

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “Snippet Sunday (#3) – Poetry

Leave a Reply

