Posted in Movies, Posts

Captain America; Civil War

Yes, a movie review! Weird, right? I don’t know, I just thought I’d give it a go. And I thought it’d be great to start with a movie I absolutely adored. Captain America is probably my favourite superhero, so I was pretty confident I was going to love this movie.

*contains unavoidable spoilers for the past Marvel movies*

Civil War

I thought the motive behind the fight between Iron Man and Cap was really great. Some of my friends are feeling like the Bucky thing is being overdone, but I personally don’t think I could ever get sick of him. Yes, he has been the major plot point for both of Cap’s last two movies, but I still feel like that’s not a bad thing. I think it just proves the strength of the relationship between the two. And yes, I ship it. If you don’t ship it, you’re a fool, they would be so perfect together. 

Cap was, as usual, perfect in every way. We didn’t exactly see a new side to him, but we did see a more intense version of the guy we already knew. He loves Bucky more than anyone, and this movie proved that. There were so many scenes I don’t want to name where we really saw that; the helicopter scene, the shield scene, etc. You guys know what I’m talking about. It’s not that he doesn’t love the rest of the Avengers, but Bucky will always be first. I feel like the scene with Peggy also made that relationship even more important. Cap was ANGRY, and I sort of loved it. He did have good reason to be! 

Iron Man was also fantastic. I’ve heard people saying that this was one of his best movies, and I think I have to agree. We got to find out way more about the story with his parents, and we got to see so much more of him. Stark puts on this tough-guy act, but that isn’t all he is. He has a soft side, and I love it. And can we please talk about the flashback with non-facial hair Stark? Wasn’t he just the cutest squish in the whole wide world?

Iron Man

Definitely the highlight would be the introduction of all these cool new characters. Spiderman is the cutest thing I have ever seen, and every single bit of his dialogue with Stark is perfectly written. I’m loving the backstory with Black Panther, and I’m really excited to see a movie with him whenever that happens. I love a broken character, so yes to more of that! Ant Man is really cute as well, and his powers are really freaking cool. I know he’s not technically new, but he is new to the Avengers, so that counts! The only new character I didn’t like was Sharon, Peggy’s niece. She was there to make Cap more straight, and we do so not need that. 

So, would I recommend this? Absolutely! If you’re a fan of the Marvel universe, it does live up to all the hype. If you aren’t, just make sure you know what’s going on with Cap and Iron Man, otherwise you will be so lost with the plot of this movie

Four Stars

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Captain America; Civil War

Leave a Reply

