Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Binge by Tyler Oakley; Perfection On Pages

Pop culture phenomenon, social rights advocate, and the most prominent LGBTQ+ voice on YouTube, Tyler Oakley brings you his first collection of witty, personal, and hilarious essays written in the voice that’s earned him more than 10 million followers across social media

Binge

Dear Tyler Oakley,

Thank you for being unapologetically you. You’re not perfect; no one is. And in this book, you aren’t afraid to explore how utterly un-perfect you are.

There’s nothing greater than seeing one of your favourite celebrities take down all their walls. On YouTube, Tyler does his best to present the best side of himself, as anyone else would. In this book, though, he showed us the best bits, the worst bits, and the just plain dumb bits of his chaotic life. It would’ve been all too easy to edit out all the things that went wrong, and I really appreciate that he didn’t. When he was younger, Tyler had a lot of things going wrong. He’s gay, and he had an eating disorder, and he wasn’t exactly good looking. Put all this together in a small town, and do you really expect his life to be perfect? He had my in tears from what he wrote about his childhood. That poor kid went through so much. What I really loved, though, was that it wasn’t Tyler moping around about his life. He turned it into a lesson for us; love your body, find someone who loves you, be yourself, etc etc. Tyler wrote this book for us, his people. He did it to help us be the best version of ourselves we can possibly be. So for that, I say thank you Tyler. Thank you for doing the hard task of writing this book to make our lives better. Tyler Oakley.jpg
Don’t worry, there were plenty of good bits too. He wanted to celebrated all the highs with us, as well as mourn the lows. He swore through the book, because that’s who he is. He made sure that we knew that his life was wonderful, and that he wouldn’t change it for the world. Seeing anyone I love happy is a good thing, and I liked that I could fawn over a book without looking like a weirdo. It also feels more productive than watching every single one of his YouTube videos in a row…

If you aren’t a fan of Tyler Oakley – well, firstly, what the heck are you doing with your life? Secondly, you can still read this book. Of course, there were a lot of mentions to his life now. But he’s actually a good writer, not just a YouTuber documenting stuff for the fans. When he talked about his long-term boyfriend, I was hooked. I forgot that this was real life, and read it like fiction, awwing at all the cute bits, getting teary eyed when the relationship ended, yelling at both of them as if I could change the outcome. Tyler isn’t a YouTuber pretending to be a writer. He can actually write some really fantastic stuff.

So, Tyler, thank you. Thank you for being you, and for helping us be us. I love you because I know you love us, and this book really proved just how much you’re always doing for your people.

Love,
Victoria (@Addlepates)

Five Stars

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

5 thoughts on “Binge by Tyler Oakley; Perfection On Pages

Leave a Reply

