Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

The BFG: A Review Through Updates

Captured by a giant! The BFG is no ordinary bone-crunching giant. He is far too nice and jumbly. It’s lucky for Sophie that he is. Had she been carried off in the middle of the night by the Bloodbottler, the Fleshlumpeater, the Bonecruncher, or any of the other giants-rather than the BFG-she would have soon become breakfast.
When Sophie hears that they are flush-bunking off in England to swollomp a few nice little chiddlers, she decides she must stop them once and for all. And the BFG is going to help her!
BFG
Photo inspired by Reading On Cloud 9

The BFG is so cute! He’s so cheerful about everything, even though he doesn’t have all that much to be cheerful about. I love his description of how all the different human beans taste. Even with a mention of my city (Wellington), yussss. I don’t understand why he won’t steal food though? Couldn’t he pay them with dreams or something so he didn’t feel bad about it?

(my thoughts on the first part of the book, about my favourite giant)


All I want is to get to run with the BFG and go dream catching with him. Those dreams sound so interesting! And I love thinking that that’s the way it actually works, with him and his trumpet thing. Even just reading the really short descriptions is great. It probably doesn’t need to be split into boys and girls though – I wouldn’t mind either one of those, they all sounded like really interesting dreams

(my thoughts on the second part of the book, and how I still want my fantasy life)


 

Let’s talk illustrations. Question Blake has drawn so well in this book. The descriptions match the pictures absolutely perfectly. I love Sophie’s plan to stop the Giants. For an eight year old, she’s actually very clever. I would have been way too scared to think straight about anything

(my thoughts on the third part of the book, and how perfect the physical book is. Sophie is also a great protagonist)


 

It’s one of my favourite endings of any book. It’s so cool to think the BFG wrote the book, you know? I mean, obviously it’s fictional, but once you’ve read a book the character becomes real, and that little thing has made him even more real to me. Plus, it’s so sweet to see that well deserved ending for Sophie. It makes me all warm and fuzzy inside!

(no spoilers, but I love the final ending of the book!)


 

Can you tell I’m getting bored with reviews at the moment? These updates from when I was reading the book sums up basically everything I’d want to say though! I love the BFG, just as much now as I did when I was kid. Roald Dahl writes amazingly, Quentin Blake draws amazingly, and I just wish this world would come to life. Except without all the child murdering… I can’t wait to see the modern adaptation that’s coming out soon! It looks dark and a little scary, but I think it’s going to work well
Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

4 thoughts on “The BFG: A Review Through Updates

  1. I really can’t wait! I loved the book when I read it as a kid. The way Roald Dahl writes in so unique and original; all his books are awesome!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

