Posted in Book Reviews, Discussions, Posts

Should I Read The Shatter Me Trilogy? A Helpful Guide

So, I recently finished Ignite Me, the third book in the Shatter Me trilogy. Usually, I suffer a little, then get out a review and slap it onto the blog. Today, though, I had zero motivation to do this. Instead, I’ve got a helpful little quiz for you to help decide if you should read it! 

1. How do you feel about dystopia? Because this is a dystopia with magic people and a ruined world, and everything you’d expect from that kind of book

a) Hate em! (go to q2)

b) Eh, they’re okay, a bit overdone (skip to q3)

c)  Love them! (skip to q3)

Utopia vs Dystopia

2. What’s the one thing that could make you want to put up with dystopia?

a) Fantastic writing

b) Great fight scenes

c) Really unique characters (and mostly great ones – but Warner guys? Really? What am I missing there??)

Shatter Me Quote

3. How do you feel about love triangles? Because we have one between Adam, Juliette, and Warner, and I’ll admit I was pretty angry with it by the end of the Ignite Me

a) Hate em!

b) Eh, they’re okay, I can put up with them

c) Love them!

Love Triangle of Doom

4. What’s the best book you’ve ever read in terms of writing style?

a) Fault In Our Stars/Perks of Being A Wallflower (you like a lot of metaphors)

b) Illuminae/We Were Liars (you like the weird uniqueness)

c) Knife Of Never Letting Go/Book Thief (you like the unfiltered honesty)

20160107_150443.jpg

5. How do you like your fight scenes to be played out?

a) Instense fighting ALL THE TIME

b) I hate them! Give me more romance PLEASE

c) A couple of fight scenes, not too many

Game of Thrones Fight.jpg

So, should I read Shatter Me?

I answered mostly a’s: I don’t think Shatter Me is really for you. It’s your pretty typical dystopia, with a lot of romance and not a lot of fighting. I’d recommend A Healing Heart if you’re looking for a one-boy-meets-one-girl type of book, or Throne of Glass if it was the lack of fighting that put you off

I answered mostly b’s: If you’re really stuck for something to read, or you like listening to hype, you could give this a go. It has a lot of really great aspects, and a lot of not-so-great aspects. There’s fighting, but not a lot. There’s a love triangle, but it’s easy enough to put up with, especially by the time you get to the final book. And it’s written pretty uniquely, but not that constant weirdness that’s in Illuminae or We Were Liars. It’s sprinkled with your pretty standard style of writing at times. I’d say you’d enjoy this, but it’s definitely not going to be a stand out five star read

I answered mostly c’s: Perfect! GO AND READ IT RIGHT NOW. The romance is swoon-worthy, especially if you like the love triangles. The writing is gorgeous, it’s like peeking right inside Juliette’s brain. The characters are like nothing I’ve read before, especially if you take into account their powers, and the relationship between all the friends. Go forth, my friend, and fall in love with this series!

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

14 thoughts on “Should I Read The Shatter Me Trilogy? A Helpful Guide

  1. I have already read this series but I still did this because it looked fun! My answer was mostly mixed up but I think C won but unfortunately this series was just okay for me, I didn’t enjoy it that much as I thought I would. Nonetheless, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. LOVE THIS!! I read the whole series in a row about two weeks ago and I really liked it considering I don’t normally like dystopians. But I do feel you when it comes to writing reviews, I still haven’t written my review for Ignite Me oops…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

