Posted in Posts, Wrap Ups

Dewey’s Readathon; The Sad End

Yep, it’s the end of the readathon. Are you sad? I’m sad. In case you have no idea what I’m talking about, I did the Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon, and had so much fun! I did a little midnight update yesterday which you may have seen, but now that I’m actually properly awake, I thought I’d do a proper wrap up. 

Dewey's Readathon

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? The second to last hour or so was stressful, because so many people had gone to bed by that time! I slept at the beginning, because it started at midnight for me, so I wasn’t too tired. It was hard carrying on when there so few people around!
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? All I can say is I made the mistake of starting of with a sci-fi, and I do not recommend that AT ALL. Read something light, like a romance or contemporary, it keeps you awake for longer and it’s easier to read in a short space of timeRobot Love
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season? I have lots of tips for myself, but none for the organisers. Like I said, I need to read less books that involve me thinking a lot. I should also have a nap before the event, so I can stay up longer in the beginning (half an hour was not long at all)
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? I loved all the mini challenges, and discussions going on in the Goodreads group. I think I checked those almost every hour!
  5. How many books did you read? Two and a bit! That was about 680 pages in total, which is way better than I was expecting. I didn’t do an exact page count last year, but it looks like 300-400 
  6. What were the names of the books you read? Lost Friday (322pgs), Famous Last Words (288pgs) and The Bookshop That Floated Away (72pgs). Reviews coming soon! There was an audio book and another Kindle book missing from this picture, so that was 3 of the six plannedIMG_2357
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? I loved both the books I finished, but Famous Last Words was definitely easier to read
  8. Which did you enjoy least? The Bookshop one. The writing style is very jumpy, and I’m finding it hard to get into
  9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? The next one is in October, which is right before my November exams, so we’ll see… I would love to participate again though, I had so much fun! I’d only read again, but hopefully more seriously

This wasn’t an official question, but I want to compare my two readathons so far. My biggest mistake from last year was a lack of planning, so that definitely helped me improve this time around. I also knew to not start big, daunting books, after trying to start the Golden Son. Sure, my book choice could have been a little better, but I’m still really happy! You can see how much better I did last year, and all I wanted to do was improve. 

The other thing I’m happy with was that I took this one a bit more seriously. I had my Kindle for Lost Friday, so I could eat and read at the same time. I did plan to have an audio book, but that ended up not working on my phone. That’s something I can try for next time to stretch my legs though. So obviously organisation is the way to go!

If you participated, how did you do? Do you want to do it with me next time? Link me to your wrap up posts!

 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

7 thoughts on “Dewey’s Readathon; The Sad End

  1. You did great! Loved your wrap-up post. 🙂 I wish I would have started with one of my most anticipated reads. I think I would have wound up reading a lot more if I would have. Already looking forward to October and doing things differently next time around.I didn’t do any of the challenges or get to enter for any giveaways. It was a lot of fun though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

