Posted in Posts, Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (#42) – Makes You Laugh

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. They tell us what to write our top ten for, and we do! This week…

toptentuesday

Books That Make You Laugh

  1. Georgia Nicolson Diaries by Louise Rennison. I’ve read these books so many times, and they always have me in tears of laughter. Georgia is such a numpty, and I love itSnog O Metre.jpg
  2. Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan. Grover’s sense of humour is exactly my sense of humour – lame jokes that are totally innappropriate for the moment. Yeah, all of them crack pretty similar jokes, but Grover is my absolute favourite. 

“Let us find the dam snack bar,” Zoe said. “We should eat while we can.”
Grover cracked a smile. “The dam snack bar?”
Zoe blinked. “Yes. What is funny?”
“Nothing,” Grover said, trying to keep a straight face. “I could use some dam french fries.”
Even Thalia smiled at that. “And I need to use the dam restroom.”

I started cracking up, and Thalia and Grover joined in, while Zoe just looked at me. “I do not understand.”
“I want to use the dam water fountain,” Grover said.
“And…” Thalia tried to catch her breath. “I want to buy a dam t-shirt.”

3. Skuduggery Pleasant by Derek Landy. Skulduggery is full of sarcasm, and again, great jokes at the wrong moment. You never quite know if his stories are truth or made up, or if he’s ever serious about anythingSkulduggery Quotes4. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. To be completely honest, I wasn’t a huge fan of these books. But they are so fantastical that they’re bound to make at least one of you guys laughHitchiker's Quote.jpg

5. Artemis Fowl by Eoin Colfer. Humour isn’t exactly what I think of when I think of these books, but Artemis’ completely inapptitude at life is hilarious. He’s a genius, of course, but that doesn’t mean he always says the right thing

“Butler could kill you a hundred different ways without use of his armoury. Though I’m sure one would be quite sufficient.”

6. Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. Alright, I don’t like Jace (fight me). He can still make me laugh! And I’m sure loads of you are in love with him for some reason…

Jace

7. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green. One word for you – Augustus. He’s such a dork, it makes me giggleFault In Our Stars Swings

8. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. JAMIE MY LOVE. He’s like Augustus, not exactly funny, just a cute little dork

“Catholics don’t believe in divorce. We do believe in murder. There’s always confession, after all.”

9. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. Rose is sassy, and comes out with the greatest lines. It’s Adrian who really gets me though – like Skulduggery, you never know if he’s serious or not, but it’s a pretty safe bet that he’s notAdrian Quote

10. All of Rainbow Rowell’s books. I feel like a lot of these laughs are “that’s so me” laughs, particularly when it comes to FangirlFangirl Quote

Here’s hoping you guys appreciate that I went to the effort of finding the perfect quote for every book. It wasn’t easy, you know! Which quote was your favourite? And more importantly, what books would you recommend for me to add to my list?

 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (#42) – Makes You Laugh

  1. OMG that Jace meme is so true though XD I still remember reading the dam scene in Percy Jackson. It’s the type of jokes I would make! And yes, Adrian is always hilarious. I loved reading his dialogue in Bloodlines, it made my day that much better!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Woohoo!! I loved this list! Books that are serious but make me laugh at the same time are the best! I loved Percy Jackson, The Mortal Instruments and Vampire Academy! They all definitely made me laugh. I definitely recommend Lux, if you haven’t read it! I laughed the hardest!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rainbow Rowell’s book and Hitchhikers Guide seem to be quite popular today. Now I can’t wait to read them too. I only think of The Fault in Our Stars when I think of sad books but seeing it today in some lists reminded me that it did have some funny parts too. Now I keep thinking of Augustus with the ‘fake’ smoking 🙂 Great post.

    Here is my TTT for today: https://dwgitau.wordpress.com/2016/04/19/top-ten-tuesday-ten-books-that-will-not-make-you-cry/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha I remembering laughing out loud so hard when Adrain said that in Vampire Academy. I feel like I did a lot of laughing throughout those boos because of him. He was so witty, and I enjoyed it a lot! I also loved Jace & his sarcasm. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

