Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

The queen has returned.

Everyone Celaena Sardothien loves has been taken from her. But she’s at last returned to the empire—for vengeance, to rescue her once-glorious kingdom, and to confront the shadows of her past…

She has embraced her identity as Aelin Galathynius, Queen of Terrasen. But before she can reclaim her throne, she must fight.

She will fight for her cousin, a warrior prepared to die for her. She will fight for her friend, a young man trapped in an unspeakable prison. And she will fight for her people, enslaved to a brutal king and awaiting their lost queen’s triumphant return.

The fourth volume in the New York Times bestselling series continues Celaena’s epic journey and builds to a passionate, agonizing crescendo that might just shatter her world.

Add it on Goodreads here

Queen of Shadows

I am so, so happy to be back in this world! I’ve missed these characters much more than I thought I would. However, this doesn’t mean this book was all good… If you haven’t read the rest of the series, this review will have a lot of spoilers. So to you, I’ll just say pick up Throne of Glass ASAP.

It took me a lot longer to get into this book than I expected it to. When I’m reading the series, I love them, and can’t put them down. But I’ve found out they’re very forgettable. Obviously, we were expected to remember the details of what went on in the last book. For some reason though, I just couldn’t! There were so many mentions to things that had already happened, and I found myself getting really confused. It has been just over six months since I read Heir of Fire, so maybe all I needed was a re-read. Or maybe, they’re just not great books to remember. Whatever it was, I felt myself really having to force my way through the first bit of the book, and getting bogged down with too much politics and not enough action. Celaena
Once it kicked in though, it really kicked in. Our ex-Celaena, now Aelin, is just as bad-ass as she’s always been. Maybe a little too ruthless? I forgave her for all her brutal killing though, she’s worth it. I love her relationship with the Master of Assassins, Arobynn. He’s evil and manipulative, but she’s also manipulative, and it makes me look forward to their interactions constantly through the book. There was a lot of plotting involving him during this book, and Aelin had Aedion on her side too, which made it even more exciting. Of course, I can’t go into too much detail, but just know that it made it impossible to put the book down.

“She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing”

Our other main point of view was from Manon. A lot of people say they didn’t like her very much, but I personally loved her in Heir of Fire, and loved her just as much in Queen of Shadows. I find the witches really interesting, because they aren’t explained in as much detail as the Fae. They’re a hundred times more ruthless than Aelin, but it was nice this time to see they do have some morals. The only complaint I have with them is that Manon is the only one whose character I really know. I can’t name most of the Thirteen, and the ones I can name I don’t really know anything about. Manon is written brilliantly though, and I loved getting to see her character development in this book. I’m particularly interested in seeing where her story goes in the next book.

Like I said, I can’t tell you too much, but I was so happy with the way this book ended. It was just enough happiness mixed with wondering what was going to happen next. I CANNOT WAIT for September when the next book comes out!

“What if we go on,’ he said, ‘only to more pain and despair? What if we go on, only to find a horrible friend waiting for us?’
Aelin looked northward, as if she could see all the way to Terrasen. ‘Then it is not the end.”

Have any of you read this book? What did you think? Which character was your favourite?

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

One thought on “Queen of Shadows (Throne of Glass #4)

Leave a Reply

