Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

Some Pig. Humble. Radiant. These are the words in Charlotte’s Web, high up in Zuckerman’s barn. Charlotte’s spiderweb tells of her feelings for a little pig named Wilbur, who simply wants a friend. They also express the love of a girl named Fern, who saved Wilbur’s life when he was born the runt of his litter.
E. B. White’s Newbery Honor Book is a tender novel of friendship, love, life, and death that will continue to be enjoyed by generations to come. This edition contains color illustrations by Garth Williams, the acclaimed illustrator of E.B. White’s Stuart Little and Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House series, among many other books.

20160312_184639.jpg

When I was younger, I loved to read. For a lot of people they didn’t start reading until they were older, but for me I’ve been a reader all my life. So, as a kid desperate for anything she could get her hands on, I read this many times as a kid. As an almost-adult now, I decided I better read it again.

The characters are just as cute as I remember, although it was strange getting this new perspective on them. From the very beginning, I loved Fern. She was eager to save the runt of the litter, and I loved that. She didn’t think it was weird at all that she sat and talked to animals (we’ll get to that later). And any book written from an animal’s perspective is bound to be adorable. Wilbur had so much energy, just like a little kid. Charlotte was incredibly kind. Her idea was really clever! Templeton was full of attitude, which probably made him my favourite character. I can completely see why kids adore this book. Like I said, though, I got this new perspective on everyone. Yeah, Charlotte is really kind to Wilbur. But she’s also really patronising to Wilbur, who is just a kid. She expects him to know everything about everything, and is plain rude to him when he doesn’t. Then there’s Wilbur, who is actually kind of depressed in the beginning. He’s so negative about everything! He gets bored of being cooped up, and I’m pretty sure if this was written from an adult’s perspective he’d have depression. Which, for a kids book, is a bit weird…

Actually, the book was a lot more negative than I remember it being. The ending was heartbreaking! They tried to make it sweet, but it really didn’t work. That’s not how happy endings work… Oh, and Fern decided to grow up. Like I said before, Fern could talk to animals. This was never really acknowledged as being out of the ordinary by anyone other than her mum. Not that her mum let her know what a unique ‘power’ she had. So all of that, on top of Wilbur’s constant negativity, really brought the book down for me…

I rated this way lower than I expected to, only three stars. I would highly recommend this for a kid, but for a more judgmental adult, maybe stay away. It’s not as cute as you’d expect it to be

Three Stars

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

2 thoughts on “Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

Leave a Reply

