Posted in Blog Tours, Book Reviews, Posts

Vampire Witch (Blog Tour)

BLOG TOUR BANNER copy

Vampire Witch by Eileen Sheehan:

For an up and coming witch, Casey Merker, escaping from her wicked mutant-vampire mother and even more wicked newly wedded vampire prince could never have been accomplished without the aid of two centuries old vampire brothers, Geo and Luthias. Amid the running, fighting and avoiding of the dangers and drama that arose during her escape, the brothers each declared his love for Casey. Now Casey must choose.   The problem is…. she loves them both!

Now available on:

Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Smashwords, iBooks,

Add to Your Goodreads TBR

KINDLE COVER VAMPIRE WITCH (1)

About Eileen:

Curl up with your e-reader or paperback and lose yourself in Eileen Sheehan’s exciting paranormal/fantasy world of magic, time travel, vampires, shape shifters, werewolves, and more! You’ll grab the edge of your seat, befriend -and maybe fall in love with- her heros and heroines and have a laugh or two as you enjoy her fast paced novels for readers of most ages.

Website: http://www.sheehan-author.info/index.html

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sheehan.author

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorSheehan

My Review:

I hate hate hate writing bad reviews for books I was lucky enough to get for free (in this case as part of a tour), but I just wasn’t a big fan of this book. No matter how much I read, I just couldn’t stay hooked. The writing and characters weren’t done as well as I wanted them to be. Saying that, I would still love for you guys to get the book! As a relatively small author, I think it’s so important for Sheehan to get proper feedback on where she’s going wrong. This is not a hate review, this is a constructive criticism review, and I think it would be great for her to get more of those.

The characters were weak, particularly our protagonist, Casey. Direct quote:

“I didn’t know what to do, so I returned to crying”.

She never, ever stood up for herself, instead relying on Geo and Luthius to leap in and Weaksave her. She did want to become a witch, would give her magic to save herself, and I admired that. But everything else? God, she was just asking for a punch in the face. There was also the problem of sex, particularly with her. She’s grown up in a tiny town, kept basically locked up in her house with her grandparents. At one point, she mentions that Geo is one of the first guys she’s ever had a conversation with. So what does she do? Has sex with him, of course! Out in the middle of nowhere, without protection, or even thinking. Then, she has the gall to blame him for not making her first time romantic. He had no idea it was her first time, by the way, not until it was too late. Casey becomes obsessed with sex from this point on – she never talks about Geo or Luthius without mentioning all the unmentionable things she wants to do to them. And yes, there are a lot more of those ‘arguments’. As in, Casey getting ridiculously mad at things the boys have done, not explaining what they did, and most of the time it being her fault. Did I mention I wanted to punch her?

The whole love triangle was unnecessary I thought. She said she loves both of them, which is one of my pet peeves. Casey, you don’t love them! You’re physically attracted to them, and want to sleep with them. That’s not at all the same thing. Then, she goes around hurting them because she keeps changing her mind about who she loves more. Personally, I don’t think she should have got together with either of them. If you can’t decide, don’t! Sometimes you have to sacrifice your own happiness for the sake of the happiness of the people you love. Not that Casey would ever realise that… Love Triangle of Doom

I could go on and on about the terrible characters, but its something I can look past if the writing is done well. Oh, how I wish the writing was done well… It wasn’t terrible, not at all. The descriptions were brilliant, and I could picture exactly what was happening. If you dropped me into that world, I could talk to all of the characters, and work my way around some of the settings. It was just the plot development that wasn’t done well. It felt rushed, or like she hadn’t edited it properly. This included little typos, and conversations where she got completely lost:
“I didn’t meant to do that,” she apologised.
“Is this Charles’ baby?” I practically screeched.
“No! You said he wore protection!”
“I have it on good authority that he did,” she said quietly.
This was a conversation between two characters – Casey, who thought she was pregnant, and a witch, Gwendoline. Is anyone else as confused as I am by that conversation? There were also things that were explained too many times. Someone would explain it to Casey, who would then explain it to Geo, and Geo and Luthius would discuss it. Like I said, the descriptions were done well. I just didn’t need them done three of four times to understand the world… It’s not a huge deal, and it’s not at all saying that Sheehan can’t write. I think she just needs a good editor to help her out with the basic things of writing, like those little things you might not notice yourself.

Overall, I’m pretty disappointed with this book. I do plan on reading her other book, The Vampire, the Handler, and Me, I just don’t think I’ll enjoy it very much

Two Stars

Giveaway:

Vampire Witch Giveaway

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

Leave a Reply

