Posted in Book Reviews, Posts

Celebrating Reading (Guest Post)

Today, I’m sharing a guest post from one of my friends, Taylor. This was originally going to be a big project on celebrating reading, but it was sort of a flop… Anyway, I’ve been left with just one post. And here it is!

Hi I’m Taylor, Victoria’s Best Friend in the whole entire world and far better than all her other friends (and I am not totally making this up at all whatsoever).

I haven’t recently been reading any traditional books, so I today I am going to suggest a graphic novel. This one is called Blackest Night and is one of the stories about the superhero Green Lantern, but involves the entire DC comic universe and
is a reflection on the dead characters that have died recently.  I like this story because it is a reflection on those who have come before us and is a nicely styled superhero awesomeness with awesome variants and awesome fights between which are normally characters that are on the side of good. But when reading stories like this with an established universe, it is hard to know everything but I think everything can be gathered quite well.

Blackest Night

Another story I will recommend that is in the DC universe but not as superhero based is called Grayson. This storyline is about the original Robin, who after being revealed as his solo persona Nightwing fakes his death and works at a secret agency called Spyral, this is for batman who is the only person who knows Dick Grayson still alive and feeding him secrets on the organization. I like this one because it gives a less sexually driven “archer” (an animated show about spy agency) type, and you only need to read one comic for a complete story, with an over arching story alongside it.

Grayson

I’m not going to claim that I know every comic book and I am personally a DC fan, though at the moment Marvels movie game is far stronger. if you have questions about my opinions or have recommendations for me, feel free to ask and ask them through Victoria.

Please let me know your thoughts on this post! And if you’d like to see more, or write one yourself, feel free to email me at addlepatesandbooknerds@gmail.com. I would love love love to get some more people to celebrate reading 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

6 thoughts on “Celebrating Reading (Guest Post)

  1. I love DC but I’m not really a big fan of the Lanterns. This one sounds interesting though. A fued among the superheroes? Definitely interesting. It kinda reminded me of Injustice: Gods Among Us. If you haven’t read that go read it!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

