Posted in Posts, Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday (#38) –

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. They tell us what to write our top ten for, and we do! This week…

toptentuesday

Best Books That Have Become Movies

Technically, it’s a freebie, and this is the topic I chose. I’m not saying the movie (or tv show) has to be especially good, just good books

  1. Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. Of course this had to be on my list! I actually think the movies did pretty well compared to the books. The books will always be better though, because a movie can never hold the amount of detail Rowling put into the series, even if they were ten hours longHarry Potter Book Vs Movie
  2. Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. This was a childhood favourite for me. I love love love Charlotte the spider and Wilbur the pig. The movie was okay, I think, but the book stands out a lot more to me
  3. Matilda by Roald Dahl. A rare case where the movie was better! This movie, while it was so important to me as a kid, is still a favourite of mine now. I wish I had powers like her!Matilda
  4. The Time Traveller’s Wife by Audrey Niffenger. The couple in this are one of my all time favourite couples. In the movie they’re pretty cute too, but the book makes me awww every time I think about it
  5. The Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants by Ann Brashares. Such a bad movie adaptation! In the books, I aspire to have a friendship as amazing as these four. The movie goes completely against the entire structure of the books. The second movie is based off the fourth book!
  6. Percy Jackson series by Rick RiordanThis movie was a train wreck, to the point that they were even getting the mythology wrong. The books were amazing though, and as a fandom we just don’t talk about the movie… Percy Jackson Book vs Movie
  7. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. What, you’re surprised I chose this? This was my number one read of 2015, and luckily there’s a movie adaptation too. From what I’ve seen, the movie doesn’t look as good, but I think knowing the plot twist makes it less exciting
  8. Mortal Instuments series by Cassandra Clare. As you probably all know, this has recently become a tv show. I did a post on my thoughts here. I love love love the books, and I’m pretty fond of the show so far!Shadowhunters Cast
  9. The Help by Kathryn Stockett. A rare case where the book and movie are just as good! It’s such an interesting historical fiction, and breaks my heart basically every single time
  10. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. This is one of my favourite series. Rose is bad ass as heck, Adrian is perfect, Domovoi and Rose together are so cute. The movie was pretty terrible in comparison! The casting was all wrong, the dialogue was all wrong… There were some good scenes though, and as a movie by itself it would have been really good. Just not as a movie based off this book… Vampire Academy Movie

So, there are my picks for this week! What topic did you choose? And what’s your favourite book that’s been turned into a movie or tv show?

 

 

Author:

I was a book blogger for a while, and I now blog about every little thing in life I can think of. Bear with me while I try all these new posts out... I'm a New Zealand teen who gets angry about the world (but not angry enough for tumblr). I like to capture the world through photos and words, and read in all the moments in nz-squadbetween. I have an overwhelming desire to see every corner of the world I possibly can, and hug the people I love in all those corners. I can't do make up to save myself, and you're more likely to find me buying matching stationary than matching clothes. My nerd hobbies include a new found love of the Avengers, reading YA, watching Game of Thrones, How I Met Your Mother, and every vlogger I can find, and being the last person on the music bandwagons. I have big plans for the rest of my life, including university, teaching, travelling, and having an army of puppies. I plan to blog every second of it!

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (#38) –

  1. Ooh, I’ve watched eight of these. I feel so accomplished right now. The HP adaptations weren’t the books, but they were by far the best book to movie adaptations I’ve seen. Just…FEELS. Matilda still makes me ridiculously happy. I’m not so sure about TMI, but we’ll see how it goes XD ALSO YES. the Time Traveler’s Wife is the cutest ❤ I loved your list, I'm pretty sure most of yours would make it onto my list, honestly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes to Mortal Instruments! It’s got a lot of potential to become an amazing show considering the source material. On the other hand, the PJO movies were so bad, how did they screw it up? The books were awesome! The Vampire Academy movie wasn’t bad but it could’ve been much better. Great picks 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

